Guides: POSC 425: Media and Politics: Recommended Resources

Background Information for Starting Your Research

Google
Great for getting a basic idea of your topic
Wikipedia
Great for general overviews and some articles may have solid references for later researching

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Information on social issues including articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, interactive maps, videos, and streaming audio.

The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
With 150 accessible articles written by more than 130 leading experts, this essential reference provides authoritative introductions to some of the most important and talked-about topics in American history and politics, from the founding to today.

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts from political science periodicals published throughout the world since 2007.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals.
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Access to peer reviewed journals covering Behavioral Science; Education; Business, Management & Economics; Media, Cultural & Communication Studies; Politics, International Relations; Sociology; Sport, Leisure & Tourism.
University of Chicago Press Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications covering the humanities, social sciences and life and physical sciences.

Books

Library Catalog - Search library collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Foundational books in the humanities and social sciences, selected by scholars.
Brill Publishing Online This link opens in a new window
Includes titles in the area of Humanities & Social Sciences, International Law, and Biology & Sciences from 2000 to 2016, plus e-book collections:
Asian Studies, 2007-2014; Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East, and Early Christianity, 2007-2014 Classical Studies, 2007-2014 Middle East and Islamic Studies, 2007-2014 Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, 2007-2014
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
PDFs of books in the physical and social sciences published by National Academies Press since 1980. Includes full-text searching capabilities.

Internet Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
HathiTrust
The HathiTrust Digital Library has scanned over 3.5 billion pages of text and made a significant percentage of them available for viewing, printing, and downloading for free.

Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
**Access requires logging in with a Pepperdine email on the NY Times homepage. Find step-by-step log-in instructions on the access guide to log in. **
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists and the extreme right-wing during the latter half of the 20th century.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post (1987 - present), Los Angeles Times (1985 - present), Chicago Tribune, (1985 - present), and Wall Street Journal (1984 - present).
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 : voices from the inside. This link opens in a new window
Over 450 prison newspapers from across the country in one collection representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

Websites

White House Press Briefings
Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial Archive
The Political Commercial Archive is recognized internationally as a major source for political research and considered to be one of the major sources for political commercials in the world.
Political Communication Lab from Stanford University
Archived website that contains numerous campaign ads from presidential (2000-2016) and various California congressional and state elections (1994-2010). Since the site is archived, not all media may have been captured.
Opensecrets.org
Nonpartisan, independent, and nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. It's the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Our mission is to track the flow of money in American politics and provide the data and analysis to strengthen democracy.

POSC 425: Media and Politics

Librarian

Background Information for Starting Your Research

Databases

Books

Newspapers

Websites

If you have any questions

Contact me!

nicholas.dandrea@pepperdine.edu

310-506-4256

Office 233 (behind the front desk)