Guides: REL 200 The Story of Christian Scripture: Finding Reference Information & Statistics

Online Reference Resources

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary Online
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics. Endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Encyclopedia of American Religions (7th ed. 2003) This link opens in a new window
Essays tracing the major religious families and traditions, plus directory of individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) This link opens in a new window
Entries on the Bible and its origins, development, and influence.
Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd edition) This link opens in a new window
Access to cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (2d ed. 2007) This link opens in a new window
Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2d ed 2003) This link opens in a new window
Entries on persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, includes biographies of contemporary religious figures, photos, maps, and illustrations.
Restoration Serials Index This link opens in a new window
Index to serials and lectureships published by the Christian College Librarians since 1975.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
Greek literary texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users and visitors must create an account with a user name and password to access the TLG site.
Terms and conditions for access to the TLG is granted (including limitations on access or use).
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
Open Access PDF version of the previously published volumes A - M and O - P.

E-Book & Print Reference Resources

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by Ian A. McFarland (Editor); Karen Kilby (Editor); Iain R. Torrance (Editor); David A. S. Fergusson (Editor)
Call Number: Click on Title for EBook
ISBN: 9780521880923
Publication Date: 2011-02-24
Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
Call Number: Drescher Campus Library Reference BL80.3 .R45 2002
ISBN: 1576072231
Publication Date: 2002
Entries examine every major belief and significant practice around the world as well as the religious history of each and key religious communities.
Encyclopedia of Science & Religion
Call Number: * Available as E-Book (vol. 1-2)
ISBN: 0028657047
Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on the major scientific discoveries of our time and their effects on our religious belief system.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
Call Number: Reference BL458 .E52 2006 (vol. 1-3)
ISBN: 0253346851
Publication Date: 2006
This encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays focusing on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries.
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Reference BS440 .E44 2000
ISBN: 0802824005
Also available as E-Book.
Find definitions, personal names and their derivation, places, and concepts from the Bible.

Religion Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

American Religious Identification Survey 2013
Survey on how Americans how they self-identify in terms of religion.
Association of Religion Data Archives
Data on religion in the U.S. and around the world.
Religious Landscape Study
Survey data of 35,000 American adults from the Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life,
National Congregations Survey
Ongoing national survey on the basic characteristics of America's congregations from Duke University
The Berman Jewish Data Bank
Central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry.