Guides: ART 250 Foundations in Sculpture: Home

Researching Artists

For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Journals & Periodicals' search feature on the Library's Web site.

Locate artists' works on the Internet using a search engine such as Google; or visit a site that collects information about works from over 180,000 artists: Artnet.com

Artsy, a resource for collection and education, aims to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

ARTnews (available on Flipster) reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world. You can also find Elephant on Flipster.

Find Articles in Databases

Art Full Text
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
JSTOR
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Project MUSE
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Exhibition Catalogs in the Library

Use the subject headings below to discover exhibition catalogs:

[artist's name], eg. Rockburne, Dorothea | Yarde, Richard --
Exhibitions | Criticism and Interpretation | Catalogs | Interviews
"Art, Modern -- 20th century | 21st century"
"sculpture, modern 21st century"

Specialized Online Encyclopedias

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) This link opens in a new window
Entries on all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques
Historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
more...less...
Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.