A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems, stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources include written works, recordings, or other source of information from people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and contemporary newspaper accounts.
Documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945, compiled by top scholars and experts.
Full-text items published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
Personal accounts, such as diaries and letters, of people in North America from 1534-1850, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials.
Historical books, pamphlets and broadsides from 17th and 18th century America.
Primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Access to personal narratives including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, starting around 1840 to the present, focusing on 1920 to 1980.
Letters and diaries from colonial times to 1950 plus journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings
Greek and Latin texts with English translations. Requires profile sign-in.
First time users, to create profile and set password, visit https://www.loebclassics.com/
Access to literature and resources covering education topic from pre-K through graduate school, sponsored by the US Department of Education.
Articles on all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource of peer-reviewed articles in psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Provides page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920).
Every issue from 1881-1990 with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London), including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, business advertisements, and genealogical records.
Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876
Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2010.
World's first illustrated weekly newspaper, news coverage of British and world events, including war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
Provides more than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere in Latin America.
Explore. Discover. Create.
24255 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90263 Phone: 310.506.7273Copyright © 2025 Pepperdine University
