Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Pepperdine University Library subscribes to these general databases,
covering a broad range of topics. Try them when you want to expand your
search to a wide range of periodicals!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Here are some suggested Databases. For a full list of Databases you can search the Databases A-Z List. Pepperdine Only
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Published for scientists, engineers and others interested in science; contains articles, original research reports, news sections, editorials, and letters. Special issues devoted to science-related topics such as biotechnology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It indexes over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Pepperdine has direct access to selected journal articles and online books.
"Nature" is a journal that published research in every field of science and technology. All the articles are peer-reviewed, and it is highly informative and very easy to use.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is an online library providing free and open access to the legacy literature of taxonomy and biodiversity. BHL was created by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” For assistance searching BHL, please contact Erin McAllister.
A collection of peer reviewed journals in the fields of biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection may be searched without a subscription. Open access content provided; other articles, if not available through Pepperdine University Libraries may be requested via interlibrary loan (TIPASA).