Guides: COM 408 Multimedia Production & Authoring (Triviza): Primary Sources

Advertising and Marketing - Historical

John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
Part of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke University, the Hartman Center is one of the nation's preeminent programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing. The Hartman Center's collection includes physical archives and digitized collections.
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA)
Image database relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Media History Digital Library

Features historical trade publications from film, broadcast TV and radio, among them The Film Daily (1918–1936), International Photographer (1929–1941), and Moving Picture World.

Online Archive of California

Online Archive of California (OAC)
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Pepperdine University Special Collections and University Archives has contributed a number of collections to the OAC.

Explore Pepperdine Archives

Members of Alpha Gamma, the women's honor organization, pose at the President's Home at Pepperdine College, 1938. They are joined by J. Herman Campbell, Registrar and faculty adviser to the group.

Pepperdine University Archives Photograph Collection
High-resolution digital renditions of thousands of photographic prints, slides, and negatives, capturing the history of Pepperdine University from its 1937 founding to the present.