Skip to Main Content
Research & Instruction Librarian
EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory. Entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts.
Communication Specific Databases
CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a communication resource library, scholarly conference information, the ComAbstracts database of 55,000 article and book abstracts and bibliographic records from the professional literature of the communication field, the ComVista guide to programs of study in communication-related departments in North American higher education, and electronic services for several important communication societies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.).
ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. These data can be used for both research and instructional activities. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides market research report insights for market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods on very specific consumer markets in the US. Common data sources include: Simmons Consumer Research Information Resources, Inc., (IRI) Nielsen/NPD, Trade Associations and Mintel's unique consumer research. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Access to accurate, up-to-date media information including detailed ad rates, dates and contact data plus demographic information; catalogs more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties. *** Claritas 360 has replaced the Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions module.***