Pepperdine Libraries Special Collections and University Archives exists to collect, organize, preserve, and make available materials with enduring historic value that are used by students, faculty, staff, scholars, and the public, for purposes of research, teaching, administrative activities, and enjoyment of cultural heritage.
The department consists of rare book collections, the University Archives, the Malibu Historical Collection, the Churches of Christ Heritage Collection, film and television archives, and other book and archival collections. Materials in these collections are available for use by any interested users.
Special Collections staff is happy to consult with any student looking for primary source materials to enhance their research. Our staff is highly knowledgeable about our collections and can help guide you to the resources that you need.
Special Collections is on the second floor of Payson Library, and while we welcome walk-in consultations, students wishing to conduct research with our materials should email staff ahead of time to assure that the materials that they are interested in are onsite and available. Special Collections is generally open Monday-Friday from 8:30am to 4:30pm.
For general Special Collections questions or University Archives questions, please contact Archivist Kelsey Knox (firstname.lastname@example.org).
For questions regarding the Churches of Christ Heritage Collection, contact Lucy Perrin (email@example.com).
For questions regarding the Malibu Historical Collection, please contact Anastasia Armendariz (anastasia.armendariz@
Pepperdine Digital Collections facilitates the discovery of and access to a wide variety of digital materials related to Pepperdine University's history and unique archival holdings. Most items in the digital collections derive from Special Collections and University Archives and include photographs, films, audio recordings, yearbooks, newspapers, ephemera, and thematic and biographical collections of all types. Topics represented include the history of the university, the history of Malibu, film and television history, the history of the Churches of Christ, and other adjacent topics.
Pepperdine Digital Collections is open to the public to encourage discovery and scholarship at the widest possible breadth. Furthermore, the materials that compose our digital collections are optimized for online information seeking and archived for long-term digital preservation.
Explore. Discover. Create.24255 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90263 Phone: 310.506.7273
Copyright © 2022 Pepperdine University