Guides: PSYC 458/SOC 458 Family in a Changing World (Buenos Aires): Home

Use databases to locate articles

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, IV, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.

Online Books

Contemporary Issues in Family Studies: global perspectives on partnerships, parenting and support in a changing world by Angela Abela; Janet Walker
ISBN: 9781119971030
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
This volume tackles key issues in the changing nature of family life from a global perspective, and is essential reading for those studying and working with families. Covers changes in couple relationships and the challenges these pose; parenting practices and their implications for child development; Discusses topics such as cohabitation, divorce, single-parent households, same-sex partnerships, fertility, and domestic violence
Family in Society by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner; Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 9781414403304
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Provides primary source documents focused family in society in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.
The American Family: understanding its changing dynamics and place in society by Dennis G. Wiseman
ISBN: 9780398085032
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The American Family has undergone and continues to undergo significant change as the twentieth century unfolds. The text explores the changing dynamics of the American family, the family and family values, the family and its influence on the health of children, adoption and family formation, justice in the family, grandparents and the family, the family's role in education of young children, psychological perspectives of childrearing in the United States, family policy and the U.S. welfare state, and oral narrative and family roles.
Families - Beyond the Nuclear Ideal by Daniela Cutas (Editor); Sarah Chan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472571601
Publication Date: 2014-05-08
Examines, through a multi-disciplinary lens, the possibilities offered by relationships and family forms that challenge the nuclear family ideal, and some of the arguments that recommend or disqualify these as legitimate units in our societies. That children should be conceived naturally, born to and raised by their two young, heterosexual, married to each other, genetic parents; that this relationship between parents is also the ideal relationship between romantic or sexual partners; and that romance and sexual intimacy ought to be at the core of our closest personal relationships - all these elements converge towards the ideal of the nuclear family.

Librarian

Elizabeth Parang

Email Me

Contact:

Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263

310-506-4046

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Art, Art History, Creative Writing, Education, English 101 & 100, English Literature, Humanities, Literature, Music, Psychology

Course Description

This course is a cross-disciplinary course that examines the family as a universally important social institution: both its history and current state. This examination will lead to two conclusions: First, the family of bygone eras has, at times, been somewhat idealized and romanticized. Second, the contemporary family, on the other hand, is not as “broken” as perhaps imagined. The family is changing and much of this course will examine these changes, the reasons for the changes, and their consequences for society. The course will consider many contemporary debates related to this transformation, some of which are quite sensitive and controversial. The course will address love, dating, sex, cohabitation, marriage, parenting, divorce, gender issues, diversity and race, same-sex marriage, and family violence. The course will emphasize the U.S., but will also include cross cultural and cross national comparisons