It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BA 355: Principles of Marketing (Labban): Marketing Databases
Provides access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others. Includes financials as Excel Analytics for both U.S. and global companies.
Example: I need financial data on Tesla.
Type tesla into the search box and select Tesla, Inc. (NasdaqGS:TSLA)
On the left-hand side, click the links for the income statement and ratios
These companies are publicly-traded and have financial data in S&P Net Advantage.
It might be worthwhile for the Tesla group to consult Ferrari's 20-F filing (the equivalent of the 10-k report filed by foreign firms on U.S. stock exchanges) to obtain information on how Formula 1 participation benefits the Ferrari brand.
PrivCo.com is a well-known source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies.
Example: I need sales data for Mars Inc (owner of Wrigley's).
Register an account with your Pepperdine email address
Access to the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier includes full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily
Example: I want a swot analysis for Nike
Type Nike into the first box
Type swot into the second box
Go to Publication date on the left-hand side to limit the date from 2020-2021
A swot analysis is also available for Boeing, Ulta Beauty and Hershey
If a swot analysis isn't available for your company, you can search for a similar business (e.g. McDonald's for the Chick-fil-A group).
Example: I need an industry report on mobile payments.
Type mobile payments into the first box
Type marketline into the second box and click search
Select the report titled, "MarketLine Industry Profile: Mobile Payments in Global"
Additional reports include:
MarketLine Industry Profile: Mobile Apps in United States
MarketLine Industry Profile: Hybrid & Electric Cars in United States.
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff. For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Example: I need a SWOT Analysis for Telsa.
Click the link for "A Publication"
Type delta swot analysis into the "Search for Something Specific Box"
Type globaldata into the FInf Publication box and select GlobalData Company Profiles
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Example: You are looking for articles that discuss the financial/marketing benefits of automobile manufacturers sponsoring a race team.
Click the box for Select / deselect all
Click Continue to search all of the databases simultaneously.
Type automobile racing or stock car racing or formula one or nascar or grand prix into the first box (the word "OR" is a search command) into the first box
Type sales or profit or revenue or stock prices or branding or marketing or purchas* into the second box
Type automobile industry into the third box
Set the publication date from 2000-2022 on the left-hand side
Refinitiv Workspace is a library database that provides financial news, financials, global pricing data and analytics, analyst research reports, and more, including investment reports from prominent banks such as Credit Suisse and Morgan Stanley. These reports provide in-depth analysis and forecasts for publicly-traded companies.
Refinitiv Workspace will replace ThomsonONE in 2021. This database is available to Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff only for non-commercial, academic research, and access requires prior registration. For registration instructions, please visit this guide.
Types of information available from Refinitiv:
In-depth research reports from companies like Morningstar, UBS, Morgan Stanley, J.P. Morgan, Trefis, RBC, Barclay's, etc. Avoid the reports from BuySellsSignal Research and Minkabu.
Environmental Social Governance (ESG) indicators
Supply Chain (referred to as a "Value Chain"
Peer Analysis (available for diversity & inclusion, profitability, fundamental ratios, peer comparison (data like P/E ratios, beta)
Provides market research report insights for market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods on very specific consumer markets in the US. Users have access to approx. 800+ unique reports with 220 new reports created each year. Common data sources include: Simmons Consumer Research Information Resources, Inc., (IRI) Nielsen/NPD, Trade Associations and Mintel's unique consumer research. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
MIntel will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:
Consumer Segmentation & Targeting
*Mintel is a great resource for Psychographics*
Example: I need a report relevant to gum
Type gum into the search box and access the report "Gum, Mints and Breath Fresheners - US - March 2019"
Other reports that can be relevant:
Coffee and RTD Coffee - US - 2021 OR Foodservice Coffee and Tea - US - 2021
Marketing to Affluent and HNW Consumers - US - March 2021 (relevant to Tesla's customers)
Access to accurate, up-to-date media information including detailed ad rates, dates and contact data plus demographic information; catalogs more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties. *** Claritas 360 has replaced the Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions module.***
For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Simmons Brand Catalyst is a strategy and predictive segmentation tool built on the Simmons Insights platform. It identifies the unique characteristics that differentiates over 8,000 brands. This resource can help marketers define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies. Create segments (using Simmons’ Smart Search technology) and compare and contrast up to three brand users or other personas, and dive deep into what defines and motivates these consumers
Select Catalyst at the top of the screen and select Brand Catalyst
Some of the following demographic categories are available:
I prefer driving a luxury vehicle agree a lot
I am worried about pollution and congestion caused by cars agree a lot
Access to research reports containing key statistics, industry conditions, market characteristics, industry performance, external market drivers, key success factors, and 5-year revenue forecasts for each US industry. Charts and graphs download into Excel, and detailed written analysis provides explanations and insights. Our subscription also includes Global Market Research Reports that analyze 75 of the largest industries on a world-wide scale. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
IBIS World will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:
IBISWorld is a great resource for industry reports on specific industries such as convenience stores, daycare, or custom screen printing.
Example: I am looking for industry reports for hybrid & electric manufacturing.
Type electric vehicles
Select the report titled, "Hybrid & Electric Vehicle Manufacturing"
Candy Production in the US (includes chewing gum)
Coffee & Snack Shops in the US OR Coffee Production in the US OR The Retail Market for Coffee
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .
You can search for specific companies and brands in Statista for data on your brand or company. For example, searching for milk makeup will retrieve surveys discussing perceptions of the brand
Example: I want information on electric cars.
type electric vehicles into the search box
Click the link on the left for Dossiers
Example: I need reports on the gum market
Click the link on the left for Dossiers
reports like "Chewing gum market in the U.S."
Also, try searching gum combined with caffeine
Example: I need reports on the coffee market.
Type coffee and click search
Click the link on the left for Dossiers
Filter results on the left-hand side to the United States and refresh the search
Reports like "Coffee shop and cafe industry in the U.S".or "Coffee market in the U.S." will be relevant.
From Euromonitor International, Passport GMID provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries and offers detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data from 1997 and forecasts through 2020. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Passport will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:
Competitor Analysis (detailed market share)
Foreign Entry Potential
Example: I am looking for information on the market for gum in the US with a list of competitors
Type gum us and select the report "Gum in the US"
Click "Download" to obtain a PDF copy of the report.
Also, energy drinks and coffee could be external competitors to a caffeine product
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 4,000 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
Example: I want information about electronic payments
Type mobile payments into the box and click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Content types and click the box for Reports
Select reports like "US Mobile Payments Forecast 2021" or "The Payments Ecosystem"
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.