Skip to Main Content
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion. 3rd ed by David A. Leeming (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-05-15
A greatly expanded and updated reference work that builds on the foundation of the highly successful previous edition. and continues to offer a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes. It provides a technical and phenomenological vocabulary that will enable collaboration and dialogue among researchers in both fields.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Psychology and Religion: an introducation by Michael Argyle
Call Number: BF51 .A73 2000
Publication Date: 2000-02-03
One of the world's most famous psychologists, Argyle ranges over the whole of psychology to look at the results of psychology's study of religion including those of his own important experiments. Psychology and Religion is full of fascinating and surprising insights into people and their religious worlds.
Minds, Brains, Souls and Godsa conversation on faith, psychology, and neuroscience by Malcolm Jeeves
Call Number: BF51 .J44 2013 + online
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
In this hypothetical correspondence with a student, Jeeves argues that we must avoid false choices in the relation between Scripture and science. Christians need not choose between a "God of the gaps" that competes with science, a "neurotheology" that bases our understanding of God on the latest scientific theory, or a scientific reductionism that claims to have explained God away as a mere function of the brain. Students encountering the brave new world of neuroscience need not view such research as a threat to the faith.
Exploring Psychology and Christian Faith by Donald J. Tellinghuisen; Paul E. Moes
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
This introductory guide, drawn from more than fifty years of classroom experience, provides students with a coherent framework for considering psychology from a Christian perspective. The authors explore biblical themes of human nature in relation to all major areas of psychology, showing how a Christian understanding of humans can inform the study of psychology.
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
This tutorial is designed for writers new to APA Style. Learn the basics of seventh edition APA Style, including paper elements, format, and organization; academic writing style; grammar and usage; bias-free language; mechanics of style; tables and figures; in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations; and reference list format and order.
The Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style tutorial will permanently stay on this site for free.