It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 372 Explorations in Printmaking: Home
Locate library resources on printmaking and printmakers
Childe Hassam (American, 1859-1935). 1926. Lafayette Square, Washington. Visual Works: Prints. Place: Indianapolis Museum of Art at Newfields, https://discovernewfields.org/collections. https://library-artstor-org.lib.pepperdine.edu/asset/AINDIANAIG_10313598172.
You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Beyond the Taj). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.
Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube
Provides access to foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries.
Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics edited by Michael Kelly (1998).
You can search the catalog by the phrase printmaking or prints to find books on technique and then filter by checking ebook to find online books. You can also find books on many well-known artists by searching their names and filtering by ebook. Or, you can search directly in collections of online books such as these:
The Virtual Library includes titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.The publications span the Getty’s publishing history, and include collection catalogues that highlight masterpieces from Getty collections, translations of texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, and publications that serve as key resources in the conservation of the world’s cultural heritage.
This book discusses silkscreen, letterpress, and woodblock printing, and explains the techniques needed to produce the final prints. We'll take you behind the scenes with many of the world's leading creatives, as they show you how they brought their prints to life using silk-screening, letterpress, woodblock, and equal parts inspiration and elbow grease.
Political communication has a long history with printmaking - here, Josh MacPhee selects poignant artworks with the intent to engage readers in a political conversation. The collection features artwork by over 200 international artists in an eclectic collection of work by both activist and non-activist printmakers
The anthology includes 32 texts on contemporary prints and printmaking written from the mid-1980s to the present by authors from across the world. Texts formats range from the art-historical and academic to art criticism and creative art writing.
Explores intermediate concepts, materials, and techniques involved in creating two-dimensional prints. Research into contemporary printmaking is emphasized and further consideration of how to use surface and image to express ideas is fostered