Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

COM 410.01: Perspectives on Identity (Gray): Scholarly Articles on Identity

This guide will help with your research

Encyclopedias

Specialized communications encyclopedia are excellent starting points for your research.

Article Databases

Example: I'm looking for articles on African American identity that include narratives.

  • Login to the Communication and Mass Media Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and APA PsycInfo and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type African Americans or Blacks into the first box (the databases use a variety of terms to describe racial/ethnic groups)
  • Type identity or  into the second box
  • Type narratives or storytelling or stories into the third box
  • Click the + sign to add another search box
  • Type interviews or qualitative into the fourth box
  • Click Search
  • Click the box for Peer Reviewed on the left-hand side
  • Use the Publication Date settings to limit your search to more recent articles

Example: It's possible to search for articles that combine several aspects of identity. In this case you are looking for articles about Hispanic/Latinx individuals and sexuality.

  • Login to the Communication and Mass Media Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and APA PsycInfo and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type Latinx or Latinos or Hispanics or Chicanos or Latinas or Mexican into the first box
  • Type identity into the second box 
  • Type narratives or storytelling into the third box
  • Click the + sign to add another box
  • Type sexuality or gay or lesbian or LGBTQ+ into the fourth box
  • Click the + sign to add another box
  • Type interviews or qualitative into the fifth box
  • Click Search
  • Click the box for Peer Reviewed on the left-hand side
  • Use the Publication Date settings to limit your search to more recent articles

Example: I'm looking for narratives on women's gender identities.

  • Login to the Communication and Mass Media Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and APA PsycInfo and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type gender into the first box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu
  • Type women or females into the second box
  • Type identity into the third box 
  • Click the +sign to add another box
  • Type storytelling or narratives or stories into the fourth box
  • Click the +sign to add another box
  • Type interviews or qualitative into the fifth box
  • Click Search
  • Click the box for Peer Reviewed on the left-hand side
  • Use the Publication Date settings to limit your search to more recent articles

Example: I'm looking for narratives from senior citizens that describes their identity.

  • Login to the Communication and Mass Media Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and APA PsycInfo and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type senior citizens or elderly or older people into the first box
  • Type identity into the second box 
  • Type storytelling or narratives into the third box
  • Click the +sign to add another box
  • Type interviews or qualitative into the fifth box
  • Click Search
  • Click the box for Peer Reviewed on the left-hand side

Example: I want the most highly cited articles on narratives from African Americans

  • Type African Americans or Blacks out into the search box
  • Click +Add Search Field
  • Type identity into the second box
  • Click +Add Search Field
  • Type narratives or storytelling into the third box
  • Click Search
  • Go to Document on the left-hand side and click the box for Articles and scroll down and click "Limit to"
  • Use the pull-down menu on the right-hand side to sort articles by Cited by (highest)
  • You will have a list of the most cited articles which are especially impactful for this topic
  • Click "Find Full-text" to see if other Pepperdine databases have the full-text of the articles