Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Sociology & Social Work : Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (Online)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (Print)

Useful Print Books

Borgatta, Edgar F.
Encyclopedia of sociology. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2000.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HM425 .E5 2000

Boudon, Raymond.
Critical dictionary of sociology. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1989.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HM17 .B6813 1989

Calhoun, Craig J.
Dictionary of the social sciences. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
Payson Library Reference: Ref H41 .D53 2002

Carson-DeWitt, Rosalyn.
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2001.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HV5804 .E53 2001

Champion, Dean J.
The American dictionary of criminal justice : key terms and major court cases. Los Angeles, Calif. : Roxbury Pub., c2005.
Payson Library Oversize: Oversize HV7411 .C48 2005

Clark, Robin E.
The encyclopedia of child abuse. New York : Facts on File, c2001.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HV6626.5 .C57 2001

Dressler, Joshua.
Encyclopedia of crime and justice. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2002.
Payson Library Oversize: Oversize HV6017 .E52 2002

Kagan, Jerome.
The Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence. Detroit : Gale Research, c1998.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HQ772 .G27 1997

Kuper, Adam.
The social science encyclopedia. London ; New York : Routledge, 1996.
Payson Library Reference: Ref H41 .S63 1996

McShane, Marilyn D.
Encyclopedia of juvenile justice. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2003.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HV9104 .E58 2003

O'Brien, Robert.
The encyclopedia of understanding alcohol and other drugs. New York, NY : Facts on File, c1999.
Payson Library Reference: Ref HV5017 .O37 1999