Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

COM 300: Communication Research Methods (Gray): Researching Communication Theories

This guide will help you with your research

Encyclopedias

Specialized communications encyclopedia are excellent starting points for your research.

Article Databases

Example: I'm looking for scholarly articles on FOMO and social media.

  • Login to the Communication and Mass Media Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and APA PsycInfo and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type FOMO or fear of missing out into the first box
  • Type social media or facebook or instagram into the second box
  • Click Search
  • On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Example: I want scholarly articles on FOMO and social media.

  • Type FOMO or fear of missing out into the search box
  • Click +Add Search Field
  • Type social media or facebook or instagram into the second box
  • Click Search
  • Use the pull-down menu on the right-hand side to sort articles by Cited by (highest)
  • You will have a list of the most cited articles which are especially impactful for this topic

Dissertations

Example: I'm looking for dissertations on FOMO and social media

  • Type FOMO or fear of missing out into the first box and change the field to Anywhere except full-text- NOFT
  • Type social media or instagram or facebook into the second box and change the field to Anywhere except full-text- NOFT
  • Click Search