Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

COM 322 - Communication Training and Techniques (Gray): Academic Articles

This guide will help with your research

Scholarly Articles

Example: I'm looking for articles on career training for young adults.

  • Login to the Academic Search Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Communication & Mass Media Complete, APA PsycInfo, and Business Source Premier and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type career or vocational or occupational guidance into the first box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu (the word "Or" is a search command
  • Type training into the second box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu
  • Type youth or young adults or adolescents into the third box
  • Click Search
  • On the left-hand side, click the box for "Peer Reviewed"
  • Go to Publication date on the left-hand side to limit your results to more recent articles
  • Try searching with different keywords. For example, the word "employment "could be a good search term as well as the above terms career development or vocational or occupational guidance
  • You can also try searching with the term "programs" instead of "training" for articles on program evaluation

Example: I'm looking for career training articles for individuals with disabilities.

  • Login to the Academic Search Complete database
  • Click the link for Choose databases
  • Click the boxes for Communication & Mass Media Complete, APA PsycInfo and Business Source Premier and click OK so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type career or vocational or occupational guidance into the first box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu (the word "Or" is a search command
  • Type training into the second box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu
  • Type disabilities into the third box
  • Click Search
  • On the left-hand side, click the box for "Peer Reviewed"
  • Go to Publication date on the left-hand side to limit your results to more recent articles
  • In addition to the broad term "disabilities," try searching for specific terms such as autism.

Example: I'm looking for articles on career education that specifically appear in the journal Journal of Vocational Behavior.

  • Type Journal of educational and psychological consultation into the first box and select SO Source with the pull down menu
  • Type career development or vocational or occupational guidance into the second box and select SU Subject with the pull-down menu
  • Type training into the third box
  • Click Search
  • Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side to limit your results to more recent articles
  • Click "Find Full-text" to obtain the full-text of the articles
  • When searching within a specific journal, it's usually a good idea to construct more general searches