Skip to Main Content
Additional primary source databases
Example: I need U.S. intelligence documents on Nelson Mandela,
- Type Nelson Mandela into the box and click search
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Online research tool with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides
for tips on searching this database.
Example: I need U.S. Senate and House reports on Patrice Lumumba.
- Click the link for U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- Type Patrice Lumumba into the search box and click search
Historical Magazines and Newspapers
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920). Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences and the fine arts: music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The collection includes over 5 million pages.
Example: I need primary source magazine articles on the Belgian Congo and King Leopold
- Type Congo in the first box
- Type Leopold into the second box
- Scroll down to Publication Date and select Specific Date Range with the pull-down menu
- Enter 1908 to 1920 for the dates
- Click Search
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Every issue from 1881-1990 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™.
Example: I need primary source magazine articles about Robert Mugabe that were written between 1976 and 1982.
- Type Robert Mugabe into the search box
- Scroll down and set the date range from 1976 to 1982
- Click Search
Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985) This link opens in a new window
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. The Gale News Vault provides an alternate format for searching.
Example: I need primary source newspapers articles on David Livingstone written between 1840 and 1880.
- Type david livingstone into the first box
- Type Africa into the second box
- Set the date range from 1840 to 1880
- Click Search
Digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress that were published between 1777-1963
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2005.
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated London News was the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. The ILN Historical Archive 1842-2003 contains over 260,000 full color pages, fully searchable and browseable.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Good resource for contemporary history.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings. Access to company profiles, market research and trade journals plus Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.