Guides: ENG 380 Thomas Hardy and Virginia Woolf: Modernist Visionaries: Finding Articles

Literature Specific Databases

Literature Resource Center
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920). Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences and the fine arts: music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The collection includes over 5 million pages.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

Newspapers

Gale News Vault (Historical UK newspapers)
Search the Illustrated London News together with The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.

The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
The entire newspaper is online, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
World's first illustrated weekly newspaper, news coverage of British and world events, including war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.

Why Google Scholar?

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.

Timeline

The people's chronology : a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present by The people's chronology : a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present
ISBN: 9781414401409
Publication Date: 2005 (3rd ed)
Presents a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Each chronological chapter is further organized by era or year, and within each year by 33 standard subject categories that feature not only political events and wars, but also events in the arts and humanities, education, transportation, science and medicine, and social trend