It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 423: 1877-1920 (Hunnicutt): Primary source articles and specialized databases
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Example: I'm looking for magazine articles written by Supreme Court Justice Louis Brandeis written between 1900 and 1920
Type Louis Brandeis into the search box and change Select a Field to SU Subject. with the pull-down menu
Scroll down to Publication Date and enter the date range of 1900 to 1920
Many of the articles won't have PDF's. Click Find Full Text to see if another database has the full article, If the other databases don't have the full-text, click the link for Request through Tipasa ILL to get request an interlibrary loan which will arrive in 1-2 business days as a PDF.
Access to personal narratives such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. Collection starts around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. Includes more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants' countries of origin.
**Register using your Pepperdine email address** For more information, visit our InfoGuide. With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device.
You can search the full-text of the archives back to 1851.
Example: I'm looking for articles on Ida Wells written between 1890 and 1920.
Type Ida Wells into the magnifying glass and clic
Click Date Range and set the range from 01/01/1880 to 12/31/1920