Guides: ENG 495 English Internship : Other Resources

Newspapers

Newspapers can provide you with valuable information. They include books reviews, author interviews, information on book signs, etc. Historical Newspapers can also provide you with information on how the book was received when it was published, if it was published with in the papers range.

Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2005.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five major U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post (1987 - present), Los Angeles Times (1985 - present), Chicago Tribune, (1985 - present), and Wall Street Journal (1984 - present).

Los Angeles Times Historical
Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
The entire newspaper is online, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated London News was the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Containing over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable, the ILN Historical Archive 1842-2003 provides users with access to the entire run of this unique historical record.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access to the Los Angeles Times including extensive coverage of national, international and local news. Covers 1985 to current date.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
**Access requires logging in with a NYTimes.com account. Register using your Pepperdine email address here. (Do not click "Continue with Google"). For more information, visit our Guide. ** With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Articles printed prior to 1980 are available by searching NYTimes.com.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) Registration Link This link opens in a new window
**Register using your Pepperdine email address, do not click "Continue with Google"** For more information, visit our Guide. With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device.

Electronic Resources

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Access to portraits of more than 18,700 men and women, updated quarterly with new and revised entries, features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Includes over 900 articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History, providing historical and social context to the biographies.
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Access to over 59,100 articles on notable people who shaped British history worldwide, from the 4th century BC to the year 2012. In addition to outlining a person's activities, character, and significance, each article also includes dates and places of key events, information on parents and spouses, and places of residence. One in five articles is accompanied by an image of the person who is the subject of the article.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
ProQuest Ebook Central tutorials This link opens in a new window
Tutorials on how to borrow, download, annotate, and create an online bookshelf for ebooks using Ebook Central.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Led by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), the HEB project includes the full text of around 5,400 titles. It includes books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students and are frequently cited in the literature. Approximately 300 books are added annually to the collection.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.