It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS: The Art and Science of Living Well : Databases and Journal Articles
Even though Payson Library is physically closed, we can still loan out e-books! To get started searching for an ebook, click the link above that says "Search the Library Catalog", and that will take you to the main page. Type in your words you want to search for in the main box, and hit "Search". You will see all the books, both print and electronic. On the left side of the screen are options to narrow your search, called "filters". Under the filter "Format" are options to limit the search to articles, books, etc. Under "Books" is the subtype "Ebooks". Check the box by "Ebooks", and that will limit your search results to only ebooks. Ebooks that Pepperdine doesn't own can be requested just like a print book. For assistance or clarification, contact Erin McAllister at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The databases listed in this box cover a wide variety of topics, and can be used for any subject.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, IV, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
These databases cover specific subjects, specifically ones that provide large amounts of resources on psychology, religion, and physical health.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Provides full text for articles and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. An EBSCOhost database.
Other Resources Available in the Library
Encyclopedias provide a small amount of important information on a vast range of subjects. They are useful for learning the basics of a topic before beginning more in-depth research.
Access to a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, and theories. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field and contains a bibliography for further reading. The Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
Quick reference answers from more over 2 million entries in more than 242 dictionaries and reference titles on subjects such as language, science, medicine, humanities, social science and business, plus the Oxford Essential Quotations and selected titles from the Oxford Companion series.
Dissertations are very long essays on particular subjects, and are very useful and often overlooked in the research process. They are longer than the standard journal articles, but are usually shorter than books. It is best to start by reading the abstract and the table of contents, so you can see which parts of the dissertation may be helpful without reading the entire essay.
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.