Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

FYS: Relational Communication in a Technological Age (Daum): Home

Welcome

Welcome to your First Year Seminar's InfoGuide! This is a collection of the library resources that may end up being the most helpful for you as you start doing scholarly research for your class. 

Scholarly research is important because it is done using material that is peer-reviewed. This means that the articles have been examined by other professionals in the appropriate field, and they have determined it to be accurate. These Scholarly (or Peer-Reviewed) Articles have been collected by Journals, and those Journals are held in Databases. Pepperdine (and you!) has access to these databases, and you can use them for free. Helpful databases for you can be found of the second tab of this InfoGuide. 

Research can also be done on Websites, but you need to make sure those websites can be trusted. The third tab of this guide has more information on which websites can be trusted, and how to evaluate websites that you want to use. 

Lastly, citing your sources is a crucial part of writing research papers. There is a lot of information on how to accurately cite sources on the last tab of this guide. 

If you have any questions at all about using the Pepperdine Library (especially since we are all online due to COVID-19), about searching for and accessing articles, about using databases, or about citing articles once you've used them, please email me and let me know. I am always here and ready to help you. 

-Erin McAllister (Research and Reference Librarian) 

Explore Pepperdine Archives

Pepperdine College marquee with Christian message, 1960s

Find more Pepperdine History in Pepperdine's Digital Collections!  Browse Pepperdine yearbooks; see historic surfboards from the John Mazza collection; find jems from the University Archives Photograph Collection.

Scholarly vs. Popular

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article