InfoGuides: ENG 380 Young Adult Literature (E. Yomantas): Home

Find Articles & Biographical Information

Biography in Context
Provides biographical information, full-text articles from magazines and newspaper, images and links to Web sites

Some 50,000 new and/or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Thousands of news articles from print, online, radio and television (includes transcripts)

This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Literature Resource Center
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews
MLA International Bibliography
An index of journal articles, books, and dissertations on literary and language topics

In addition, The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are included.
Education Full Text
Both this database and ERIC are EBSCOhost databases which can be searched together with the MLA International Bibliography
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text of over 9,000 journals with coverage back to 1985
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Access to cover-to-cover indexing for nearly 400 film and television publications plus selected indexing to over 300 more. An EBSCohost database can be searched in combination with MLA International, Academic Search Complete, Education full-text, ERIC, etc.

In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Course Description

This course explores contemporary young adult (YA) literature in connection to personal, historical, political, educational, and social movements. A wide variety of YA texts are included to develop a framework for the genre, to gain new understandings through diverse perspectives, and to analyze both the societal problems and possibilities that are woven across the genre. This course emphasizes increasing students' awareness and understanding of the diverse values, beliefs, and experiences of both young adults and the texts' authors through rigorous and reflexive analysis. Through the study of YA literature, this course strives to connect lived experiences, contemporary issues, and possibilities for the transformation of society.

Online Books

Teaching Culturally Sustaining and Inclusive Young Adult Literature by R. Joseph Rodríguez
ISBN: 9781138298583
Publication Date: 2018-07-19
In this book, Rodriguez uses theories of critical literacy and culturally responsive teaching to argue that our schools, and our culture, need sustaining and inclusive young adult (YA) literature/s to meet the needs of culturally and linguistically diverse readers and all students.
The Verse Novel in Young Adult Literature by Brenna Friesner
ISBN: 9781442272446
Publication Date: 2016-11-16
Brenna Friesner explores both the history and current use of the verse novel in teen fiction. She discusses the verse novel's evolution, analyzes key works, and considers how these novels can grapple with content that distinguishes them from traditional fiction. By explaining its current popularity, this book acknowledges the verse novel's potential to provide accessible, authentic stories for young adults to enjoy.
Latino/a Children's and Young Adult Writers on the Art of Storytelling by Frederick Luis Aldama
ISBN: 9780822964971
Publication Date: 2018-03-23
Children's and young adult literature has become an essential medium for identity formation in contemporary Latino/a culture in the United States. This book is an original collection of more than thirty interviews led by Frederick Luis Aldama with Latino/a authors working in the genre.
Self-Determined Stories: The Indigenous Reinvention of Young Adult Literature by Mandy Suhr-Sytsma
ISBN: 9781611862980
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Self-Determined Stories reads Indigenous-authored YA--from school stories to speculative fiction-- not only as a vital challenge to stereotypes but also as a rich intellectual resource for theorizing Indigenous sovereignty in the contemporary era.
Mixed Heritage in Young Adult Literature by Nancy Thalia Reynolds
ISBN: 9780810867109
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
A critical exploration of how mixed-heritage characters (those of mixed race, ethnicity, religion, and/or adoption) and real-life people have been portrayed in young adult fiction and nonfiction.
Immigration Narratives in Young Adult Literature by Joanne Brown
ISBN: 9780810877672
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Joanne Brown explores the experiences of adolescents as portrayed in young adult novels. Her study features protagonists from a wide variety of religious and ethnic backgrounds in order to provide a complete discussion of the immigration experience of young adults. I
(In)Visible Presence: feminist counter-narratives of young adult literature by women of color by Traci P. Baxley; Genyne Henry Boston
ISBN: 9789462096875
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
(In) Visible Presence aims to explore YA literature written by women of color represented by African American, Asian American, Indian American, and Latina Americans. Our theoretical perspective focuses on the connection of race, gender, and class that is exclusive to women of color.
The Boys Club: Male Protagonists in Contemporary African American Young Adult Literature by Wendy Rountree
ISBN: 9781433105746
Publication Date: 2011-06-23
A study of prominent issues and themes such as education, identity, and racism in contemporary (i.e., post-Civil Rights era) young adult novels written primarily for African American boys by African American men and women writers.
Racism in Contemporary African American Children's and Young Adult Literature by Suriyan Panlay
ISBN: 9783319428925
Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Applying critical race theory to contemporary African American children's and young adult literature, this book explores one key racial issue that has been overlooked both in race studies and literary scholarship--internalised racism. By systematically examining the issue of internalised racism and its detrimental psychological effects, particularly towards the young and vulnerable, this book defamiliarises the very racial issue that otherwise has become normalised in American racial discourse, reaffirming the relevance of race, racism, and racialisation in contemporary America.
Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism. by Michael Cart
ISBN: 9780838914755
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Surveying the landscape of YA lit both past and present, this book sketches in the origins of literature targeted at young adults; shows how the best of the genre has evolved to deal with subjects every bit as complex as its audience; closely examines teen demographics, literacy, audiobooks, the future of print.

Citing Sources: Help with MLA Style

Information about the 8th edition of the MLA Style Handbook can be found in the MLA Style Center, including A Quick Guide to Works Cited, What's New and Ask the MLA

You can also find guidance on using MLA style on the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) website: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Citing Sources: Help with APA Style

APA Style Guide
Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab) style guide for APA
APA Style Blog
Searchable blog with answers to tricky APA questions
APA Style - Loyola
APA Style Guide from Loyola University of Maryland

Interesting Websites

Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.
Morris Award
The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first given in 2009, honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.
American Indian Youth Literature Award
For writing and illustrations by and about Native Americans.
Nebula Awards
For young adult and middle grade science fiction and fantasy
Walden Award
For young adult literature that exemplifies literary excellence, widespread appeal, and a positive approach to life
Tomás Rivera Book Award
Books for children and young adults that reflect the experience of Mexican Americans in the United States
Teen Book Finder Database
One-stop shop for finding selected lists and award winners created by YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association)

Librarian

Elizabeth Parang

Email Me

Contact:

Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263

310-506-4046

Subjects:African American Studies, American Studies, Art, Art History, Creative Writing, Education, English 101 & 100, English Literature, Fine Arts, Humanities, Literature, Psychology