Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Leisure Materials and Resources: National Theatre Collection & Digital Theatre Plus

National Theatre Collection & Digital Theatre Plus

National Theatre Collection brings a high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Digital Theatre Plus brings live performance accompanied by a range of educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection. In addition Digital Theatre Plus provides several theatre resources, including over 200 productions, 18 masterclasses, 27 documentaries, 260 interviews, and 62 practical guides. 

National Theatre Collection

National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.   

Scroll through to see some of the amazing plays streaming on the National Theatre Collection! Click on the photos to be taken directly to the National Theatre Collection database. 

Written By: Tennessee Williams

Directed By: Benedict Andrews 

Performed By: Jack O'Connell, 1990-, Sienna Miller, 1981-, Colm Meaney, 1953-, Lisa Palfrey, 1967-, Hayley Squires, 1988-, Brian Gleeson, 1987-, Michael J. Shannon, 1943- and Richard Hansell, fl. 1996

Written By: Nina Raine

Directed By: Roger Michell 

Performed By: Adam James, 1972-, Anna Maxwell Martin, 1977-, Ben Chaplin, 1969-, Pip Carter, fl. 2007, Daisy Haggard, 1978-, Priyanga Burford, fl. 1998 and Heather Craney, 1971-

Written By: William Shakespeare

Directed By:  Tim Van Someren 

Performed By:  Tom Hiddleston, 1981-, Mark Gatiss, 1966-, Peter de Jersey, 1965-, Elliot Levey, 1974-, Helen Schlesinger, 1967-, Birgitte Hjort Sorensen, 1982-, Sebastian Croft, 2001-, Hadley Fraser, 1980-, Deborah Findlay, 1947-, Jacqueline Boatswain, 1962- and Alfred Enoch, 1988-

Written By: Charlotte Brontë

Directed By: Sally Cookson

Performed By: Craig Edwards, 1993-, Laura Elphinstone, fl. 2008, Simone Saunders, fl. 2005, Maggie Tagney, fl. 1985, Melanie Marshall, 1962-, Madeleine Worrall, 1977- and Felix Hayes, fl. 2014 

Written By: William Shakespeare

Directed By: Justin Audibert

Performed By: Ashley Gerlach, fl. 2010, Sharan Phull, fl. 2017, Kayla Meikle, fl. 2014, Tripti Tripuraneni, fl. 2017, Ronak Patani, fl. 2012, Nana Amoo-Gottfried, fl. 2014, Jay Saighal, fl. 2015 and Madeline Appiah, fl. 2005 

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus brings live performance into the classroom, accompanied by a range of educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection. Includes several theatre resources, including over 200 productions, 18 masterclasses, 27 documentaries, 260 interviews, and 62 practical guides. 

Scroll through to see some of the amazing resources on the Digital Theatre Plus! Click on the photos to be taken directly to the Digital Theatre Plus database. 

Plays & Productions

MACBETH: This production, captured by Digital Theatre live in Liverpool, was directed by Artistic Director Gemma Bodinetz and was the valedictory performance at the original Everyman Theatre. It starred Liverpool Everyman Youth Theatre alumnus David Morrissey in the title role opposite Julia Ford as Lady Macbeth. 

NEGATIVE SPACE: Negative Space is a remarkable piece of visual theatre. Using choreographed movement and actions within a plasterboard room without words or narrative - it allows the performers to make and break rules, make us laugh, and make us gasp. This production was captured live at the New Adelphi Theatre at the University of Salford. 

A DISAPPEARING NUMBER: Winner of the 2008 Olivier Award for Best New Play, A Disappearing Number tells the true story of the extraordinary collaboration between Cambridge professor G.H. Hardy and self-taught mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan, who made some of the most significant mathematical discoveries of the 20th century.

Practice & Practitioners

Digital Theatre Plus presents interviews with skilled working professionals in the theatre business today. Digital Theatre Plus interviews professionals from a variety of occupations in theatre, including artistic directors, directors, lighting designers, playwrights, and performers. These interviews provide instructions, expert advice, and a glimpse into the professional world of theatre.  

Theory & Criticism

Digital Theatre Plus provides valuable guides breaking down plays and teaching viewers how to analyze material with resources such as workbooks and toolkits. Digital Theatre Plus offers lessons from a variety of areas within the theatre, including acting, devising, and collaboration.