Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

The Saint John's Bible at Pepperdine: Home

Use this InfoGuide for information about the Saint John's Bible and how you can use it at Pepperdine.

About the Saint John's Bible

undefined

Pentateuch Volume of The Saint John's Bible 

The Saint John’s Bible is a work of sacred art that unites an ancient Christian tradition with the technology and vision of today, illuminating the Word of God for a new millennium. In 1998, Saint John’s Abbey and University commissioned renowned calligrapher Donald Jackson to produce the hand-written, hand-illuminated Bible. The Heritage Edition, on display in Payson Library, is a fine-art reproduction of the original with the mission of igniting the spiritual imagination of people on all faith journeys.

Manuscripts at Pepperdine

undefined

The Saint John's Bible complements a growing collection of manuscripts in Pepperdine's Special Collections and University Archives. This image is manuscript leaf from a 13th century Bible in Otto Ege's portfolio, Original Leaves from Famous Bibles.

The Saint John's Bible at Pepperdine

Pepperdine acquired the Heritage Edition of The Saint John's Bible in honor of the school's 75th anniversary in 2012. Since then, the library has shared The Saint John's Bible in campus chapel services, at local churches, with visiting groups, and at events such as the Bible Lectures and a calligraphy conference. Most significantly, The Saint John's Bible is used in academic classes at Pepperdine.

One of the seven volumes is on perpetual display in the entrance to Payson Library. The other six volumes are kept in the Special Collections and University Archives department.

We welcome you to contact us if you have any questions or if you would like to schedule an in-person viewing of The Saint John's Bible at Pepperdine once we re-open, either as an individual, a group, or for a class.

Books About The Saint John's Bible

These books include useful information about The Saint John's Bible, including how it was made as well as its connections to art, theology, and justice, amongst other topics. Almost all of these books are available as eBooks, and most are also available as print books in Payson Library. Please click the link for access to the book.

Associate University Librarian for Special Collections and University Archives

Melissa Nykanen's picture
Melissa Nykanen
Contact:
(310) 506-4434
Website

Online Resources

About Special Collections and University Archives

The Special Collections and University Archives at Pepperdine acquires materials of historical and cultural significance - materials that tell the story of our shared heritage and that support teaching, learning, and research at Pepperdine. Unique and rare photographs, maps, letters, books, and audio and video recordings document a wide variety of topics, including the history of our own institution and region. In addition to capturing and promoting our heritage, these materials provide rich resources for students’ research.​