JSTOR has enabled access to all Multi-Discipline Archive Collections, which are all searchable on the JSTOR platform. Access is also indicated in our online catalog.
Pepperdine Libraries now have temporary expanded access to 12 unowned JSTOR archive collections (Arts & Sciences IV through Arts & Sciences XV). These journals span 60 disciplines and include more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage to these journals runs from volume 1, issue 1 to JSTOR's moving wall.
ProQuest has enabled extended access to Academic Video Online & ProQuest Central through June 19. Access is indicated in our online catalog.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers ~ 68,000 titles.
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases.
A few noteworthy collections that may be viewed in Academic Video Online are:
Cambridge University Press has enabled access to the Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories, and Cambridge Elements through May 31.
These can be accessed at the following links:
Title links will also appear in our online catalog.
EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing are offering libraries free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30, 2020.
This collection contains the complete catalog of Harvard Business Review e-books, with over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series.
Access these ebooks on EBSCOhost, or discover them in the library catalog.
The following publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. We will update this list on a daily basis.
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, Annual Reviews has made their journals available to all (without access controls) through Thursday April 30, 2020.
ProQuest is working with participating publishers to increase ebook access limits to unlimited access for titles owned by Pepperdine Libraries on the Proquest Ebook Central platform. A list of participating publishers is available at ProQuest's site; any titles purchased by the Libraries and published by these participating publishers will be converted to unlimited access through mid-June.
Oxford University Press has offered a number of temporary free resources to students and faculty, including:
The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall for a free trial.
Log on to the Digital Concert Hall ticket page with the code BERLINPHIL and use the Digital Concert Hall free of charge for 30 days. This code expires Tuesday, 31 March 2020. Learn more about this offer at the Berlin Philharmoniker's site.
VitalSource® has joined leading publishers to help ensure students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic will have free access to quality digital learning materials through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester through May 25, 2020.
Access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf.
To view a list of publishers and resellers who are supporting this effort, visit https://get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps-full-list-of-participants (includes Pearson, Cengage, SAGE, Macmillan, McGraw-Hill Higher Education).
Students who need assistance accessing free eTexts can visit https://get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps.
These are the basic steps of accessing textbooks through VitalSource (as seen in the videos on this page):
1. Visit https://bookshelf.vitalsource.
2. Log in and visit https://bookshelf.vitalsource.
3. Borrow the textbook, which will appear on your bookshelf / Library.
4. Read the book online (view a video of how to use the Bookshelf here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?
In collaboration with the academic publishing community, RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their learning materials.
The RedShelf Responds initiative provides no-cost access to digital textbooks (to students from nonprofit, semester-based colleges and universities) through May 25th, thanks to their publishing partners.
Create a free RedShelf account at https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/accounts/login/ using your Pepperdine email address, and then access ebooks through RedShelf at https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/ by searching by title or ISBN.
On March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive suspended waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in its lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners.
This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency. The collection, at 1.4 million modern books, is a fraction of the size of a large metropolitan library system, but these books have been acquired with a focus on materials published during the 20th century, which do not have a commercially available ebook.
Follow these steps to borrow books from the National Emergency Library. Books can be borrowed for 14 days, and patrons can borrow up to 10 books at a time.
For further help, please visit "Borrowing From The Lending Library - A Basic Guide" at the Internet Archive.
Cengage is providing complimentary access to Cengage Unlimited to US students attending schools affected by COVID-19. This includes the entire Cengage catalog of eBooks, homework solutions, study tools, and more. Students are eligible for free Cengage Unlimited access if their Univeristy has moved courses online, suspended on-campus courses, or otherwise modified instruction because of COVID-19. Students will receive free access whether or not faculty have adopted courseware or eBooks from Cengage.
At the end of each 14 day free trial period, students will be prompted to start another free trial period until your school is no longer affected by COVID-19
Faculty can use this form to contact a Cengage representative to request access for students.