Skip to Main Content
Research & Instruction Librarian
Group Assignment: The Perfect Journal Article
In your groups, search the database assigned to you for an outstanding journal article on your topic. When you’re finished, please elect one person to demonstrate what you found on the big screen.
- Search for articles on your topic, using the search strategies demonstrated in class.
- For the search that led to the article, write down the key words and limiters you used, so you can demonstrate your search for the class.
- Read the article abstract, and then write a one-sentence summary of the article to share with the class.
Subject Specific Databases
EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes adult education, special education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports focused on women and gender issues. Some archival material as far back as 1974.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research abstracts related to communication studies.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals.