Finding Articles - MSC 680 B - Dr. Cain - Guides at Pepperdine University

Notes on Servant Leadership

A Leadership Style developed by Robert Greenleaf, "Servant leadership begins with the natural feeling that one wants to serve, to serve first. Then conscious choice brings one to aspire to lead...The difference manifests itself in the care taken by the servant --first to make sure that other people's highest priority needs are being served. The best test...is: do those served grow as persons; do they, while being served, become healthier, wiser, freer, more autonomous, more likely themselves to become a servant? And, what is the effect on the least Privileged in society; will they benefit or, at least, will they not be further deprived?"

from The Robert E. Greenleaf CENTER FOR SERVANT LEADERSHIP

Robert K. Greenleaf : a life of servant leadership by Don M. Frick; Larry C. Spears (Afterword by); Peter M. Senge (Foreword by) Meet the man whose work influenced some of the world's most prominent business leaders and spawned a worldwide movement that is still gaining strength today. Robert Greenleaf's landmark 1970 essay, The Servant as Leader, introduced the now common term "servant leadership" to the world. His work has been cited by leading writers and business people including Ken Blanchard, Stephen Covey, Peter Senge, Margaret Wheatley, and Peter Block and led to the development of Centers for Servant Leadership around the world. This long-awaited biography of Robert Greenleaf, authorized by his surviving children, finally tells his story. Drawn from Greenleaf's personal papers, correspondence, and interviews with family and friends, it provides a fascinating look at the sources of Greenleaf's thought, his friendships with some of the most influential men and women of the twentieth century-including Eleanor Roosevelt, Peter Drucker, the Menninger brothers, Reinhold Niebuhr, Aldous Huxley, Alcoholics Anonymous co-founder Bill Wilson, and many others-and how he influenced business history well before his first book was published at the age of seventy-three. At a time when leadership and management fads substitute as wisdom, Robert Greenleaf's life stories provide clues for how each person can make a difference in the workplace, no matter what position he or she holds.
Call Number: Calabasas Facility HC102.5.G73 F74 2004
ISBN: 9781576752760
Publication Date: 2004-06-13
The Servant Leader Within by Robert K. Greenleaf Combines in one volume classic works on servant-leadership and its relationship to the art of teaching and the act of learning.
Call Number: Drescher campus HM1261 .G74 2003
ISBN: 9780809142194
Publication Date: 2003-11-01

Databases with Leadership Literature

Business Source Premier
Most comprehensive database for literature on leadership.
Access to the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier includes full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily
Emerald Management Extra
Smaller database from one UK publisher. Excellent research on leadership and organizational behavior.
Provides access to over 75,000 searchable articles from over 120 Emerald journals. It contains over 25,000 management articles from its archives back to 1989. Subjects covered include management, HRM, and marketing,

MSC 680 B - Dr. Cain: Finding Articles

Notes on Servant Leadership

from The Robert E. Greenleaf CENTER FOR SERVANT LEADERSHIP

Databases with Leadership Literature