Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

ENG 101.16 English Composition (Julie Oni): Home

Library resources to use for your ENG 101 assignments

Researching Controversial Issues

When you see something of interest, note the terminology that is used in the discussion.  Try to isolate key concept words or key phrases to use when searching the online catalog and electronic databases.

NYTimes.com

Pepperdine Libraries now provide full complimentary access to NYTimes.com, New York Times mobile apps, and New York Times in Education to Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Access to NYTimes.com provides:

Get Help in the Writing Center

Locating Scholarly Articles

This database features a box you can check to limit your search to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.

Scholarly Databases

These databases contain scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.

Researching Newspapers and Current Issues

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Parang's picture
Elizabeth Parang
Contact:
Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263
310-506-4046

Wikipedia vs. Reference Books


Wikipedia is an encyclopedia written collaboratively; anyone with internet access can write and edit Wikipedia articles.  Users can contribute anonymously, under a pseudonym, or, if they choose to, with their real identity. 

Gale Virtual Referance Library (GVRL) and Oxford Reference Online are collections of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources; these trusted, authoritative reference works are available 24/7