Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other
Call Number: HM851 .T86 2011 (Also available online)
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Technology has become the architect of our intimacies. Online, we fall prey to the illusion of companionship, gathering thousands of Twitter and Facebook friends, and confusing tweets and wall posts with authentic communication. New introduction.
The Internet in Everyday Life
Publication Date: 2002-12-13
The Internet in Everyday Life is the first book to systematically investigate how being online fits into people's everyday lives.
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Growing Down explores the theological and psychological implications of humanity's fascination with technology. Hamman examines how our virtual relationships with and through tablets and phones, consoles and screens, have become potentially addictive substitutes for real human relationships.
The Relational Soul
Publication Date: 2014-07-17
What does loneliness tell us?"Be it chronic or acute, slight or significant, loneliness is proof of our relational design. At the core of our being is this truth--we are designed for and defined by our relationships," former pastors Plass and Cofield write. "We were born with a relentless longing to participate in the lives of others. Fundamentally, we are relational souls."
Trying to decide on a Topic?
If you have not yet decided on your topic, get some ideas by browsing these journals.
Cyberpsychology, Behavior and Social Networking
Peer-reviewed journal for understanding the social and psychological impact of today’s social networking practices.
Information, communication and society.
Drawing together the most current work upon the social, economic, and cultural impact of the emerging properties of the new information and communications technologies, this journal positions itself at the centre of contemporary debates about the information age
Search for Articles in Electronic Databases
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3.4 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 178,000 articles from 103 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Subjects:African American Studies
, American Studies
, Art History
, Creative Writing
, English 101 & 100
, English Literature
, Fine Arts
According to a Harvard longitudinal study, quality relationships are the single best predictor for life satisfaction. Learn about the biology, psychology, and theology that underlies how to build healthy relationships with God, family, friends, romantic partners, and co-workers. Special emphasis will be given to exploring how technology impacts relationships for better and for worse. While strengthening your relational intelligence, you will also hone your presentation skills and help further develop a psycho-educational curriculum for young adult relationships.