All the Odes
by Pablo Neruda; Ilan Stavans (Editor); Firuz Kazemzadeh (Editor)
Call Number: PQ 8097 .N4 A2 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
A career-spanning volume, charting the Nobel laureate’s work in the ode form. This bilingual volume, edited by Ilan Stavans, the distinguished translator and scholar of Latin American literature, gathers all the odes together for the first time in any language.
Diccionario de Literatura Espanola
Call Number: REF PQ 6006 D5 1927
In Payson Library Reference
El Debate Cultural y la Literatura Chilena Actual
by Guillermo Garcia-Corales
Call Number: PQ7953 .G37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This book in Spanish presents a panoramic view of contemporary Chilean literature from an aesthetic and ideological perspective in connection with the country's recent history.
The FSG Book of Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry
by Ilan Stavans (Editor)
Call Number: PQ 7087 .E5 F78 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
A major bilingual anthology of twentieth-century Latin American poetry During a century of extraordinary change, poets became the chroniclers of deep polarizations.
Songs of Life and Hope
by Rubén Darío; Will Derusha (Editor, Translator); Alberto Acereda (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: PQ7519.D3 C2713 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Renowned for its depth of feeling and musicality, the poetry of Ruben Dario (1867-1916) has been revered by writers including Federico Garcia Lorca, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz. A leading figure in the movement known as modernismo, Dario created the modern Spanish lyric and permanently altered the course of Spanish poetry.
Jorge Luis Borges
by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: PQ7797.B635 Z7383 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Struggling with poor eyesight and eventual blindness for most of his life, Borges went on to become of one of the greatest short story writers of 20th century. His fiction, often metaphysical and fantastic has been said to influence the great magical realists.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Access to materials related to international affairs from 1991 onward including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to theory, policy, diplomacy, politics and law in the international arena.
Access to content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles.
Access to the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.
In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Access to over 300 titles (over 250 in full text) that focus on women and women's issues, including academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports. Some archival material as far back as 1974.
Indexes 425 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, with full text for 140 journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
IIMP covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential, and Rolling Stone. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority of which index the most recent years of publication. More than 200,000 records in IIMP are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. Over 30 titles are indexed from first issue to last. IIMP is a dynamic database, with records added on a monthly basis.
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff. For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
In consultation with the professor, you will choose a specific research question dealing with one of the topics covered in class or a related topic and write a 1200 word essay to answer that question, using legitimate sources and MLA documentation.