Guides: ENG 380 Medieval Women: Mystics, Courtiers, and Stereotypes: Finding Articles

Getting Started

These online sources are good places to start your literature-related research.

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Atla Religion Database
Includes theology and religious journals reflecting all major faiths, denominations and language groups, plus book reviews, essays, ministry reports and multimedia citations. Collection dates to 1949.

The MLA International Bibliography contains over 2.5 million records that pertain specifically to language and literature. Material from other disciplines, like biology or political science, is not included.
The Bibliography provides the most comprehensive listing of scholarly material in language, literature, culture, and folklore, including publications not available on the Web.
A professional indexing staff and scholars in relevant fields review books, essay collections, journals, bibliographies, and electronic publications to create the most accurate listing possible.
The materials covered come from reputable publishers in over one hundred countries.
Indexers use controlled vocabulary as subject headings, enabling more precise searches than user-chosen keywords would allow.
Each citation contains the information users need to create a bibliography as part of a research project.