Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Faculty Publishing Resources

Is Anyone Reading My Work?- Overview

How many times has my work been cited?

When you are up for tenure or promotion, you can build a stronger case for the impact of your research by showing how often your work has been cited by other researchers.

In many cases, Google Scholar will help you locate the majority of the works that cited your research, but to be thorough, you should search multiple sources. Here is an important caveat:

  • While citations from high quality journals are included, many working papers and low quality journals (including those from potentially predatory publishers).

Below are some places to look for citations:

  • Open sources- like Google Scholar collect citation information. Start your search in Google Scholar.
  • Many Databases- have features that provide citation information. Try searching your article in databases that (host) the journals in which you publish. ex: EBSCO and ProQuest
  • Dissertation and Theses

How likely is that my work will be cited?

More likely to be cited Less likely to be cited
Peer-reviewed journals or books Book chapters or conference proceedings
Indexed in periodical databases Not indexed in periodical indexes

Evaluated by journal ranking sources (such as SCIMago or Eigenfactor)

Journals without citation metrics
Open source article Article behind a paywall
Reputable publisher Predatory publisher
Popular, timely topic                                                                             More obscure topic
   
   

Scopus (powered with PlumX)

 

 

Google Scholar

   
  Google Scholar is more comprehensive than any single database for locating sources that have cited your work, but be mindful of the quality of the resources that cite your work.

Advantages:
Disadvantages:
The single most comprehensive source for locating your citations

Quality of citations varies- a mix of peer-reviewed journals and working papers

 

Periodical databases only include citations that appear in the journals they index, but Google Scholar will contain citations from multiple sources such as journals, working papers and books Not as effective for locating older resources that haven't been published on the web

Citations That Appear in Working Papers

Sociological Abstracts

getting to citation reports in ProQuest

ProQuest from Jaimie on Vimeo.

EBSCO Databases

Note: Not all of the databses hosted by EBSCO provide this feature.

getting to citation reports in EBSCO

EBSCO from Jaimie on Vimeo.

Dissertations & Theses