Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

BA 494 International Management (Buenos Aires): How to Cite Business Sources

Citing Business Sources in Chicago Style

UCLA's Rosenfeld Library (serving the Anderson School of Management), has a guide to citing business sources in the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition.


For a more exhaustive set of recommendations for citing business sources in Chicago style such as Harvard Business Case studies, please consult this document from Harvard Business School.

Citing Business Sources in MLA

The MLA style manual does not provide examples for citing business sources such as financial data, industry profiles and annual reports. The examples listed below will assist you with citing business sources in MLA format. Simply substitute your own companies, industries, publication dates and access dates with those listed below.

Annual Report

Intel Corp. 2008 Annual Report. Intel Corporation, 2009: 23-29. Web. 9 July, 2009.

10-K report from a Pepperdine subscription database

Amgen. “2009 10-K Report.” 2010: 55-57. Mergent Online. Web. 14 March, 2012.

Mergent

"Pfizer Inc: Balance Sheet 1999-2009." Mergent Online. Web. 9 July 2009.

Value Line Research Center

Maurer, Douglas G. "Merck." Value Line Investment Survey 17 Apr 2009. Value Line Research Center. Web. 9 July 2009.

Datamonitor Industry Profile from Business Source Premier

Datamonitor. "Pharmaceutical Industry Profile Global." Nov. 2008. Business Source Premier. Web. 9 July 2009.

Hoover's Company Reports from LexisNexis Academic:

Hoover's Inc.  "Pfizer Inc." Hoover's Company Records- In-Depth Records 7 July 2009. LexisNexis Academic. Web. 10 July 2009.

Mintel

Mintel. "Functional Foods."  May 2008. Mintel.  Web. 10 July 2009.

S&P Net Advantage

Saftlas, Herman. "Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals." Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys 4 June 2009. S&P Net Advantage. Web. 10 July 2009.

Passport Database

Euromonitor. "United States, Total GDP 1999-2020." Passport. Web. 28 January 2010.

Citing Business Sources in APA

The APA Publication Manual does not provide specific examples for citing annual reports, financial statements, market research reports, economic statistics and other resources that are frequently used by business students.The examples listed below will assist you with citing business sources in MLA format. Simply substitute your own companies, industries, publication dates and access dates with those listed below.

Source:

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.).. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Annual Report from the company's web site:

Whole Foods Market. (2011). 2010 Annual report to shareholders, 78-82. Retrieved from http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/company/pdfs/ar10.pdf

10-K Report from a library database:

Whole Foods Market. (2011). 2010 10-K report, 32-56. Retrieved from Mergent Online Database.

Financial Data from a library database:

Pfizer Inc: Balance sheet 1999-2009. (2010). Retrieved form Mergent Online Database.

Datamonitor Industry Profile from Business Source Premier

Datamonitor. (2008, November). Pharmaceutical industry profile: global. Retrieved from Business Source Premier Database.

Mintel

Mintel. (2008, May). Functional foods. Retrieved from Mintel Database.

S&P Net Advantage

Saftlas, H. (2009, June 4). Healthcare: pharmaceuticals. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved from S&P Net Advantage Database.

Passport

Euromonitor. (2010). United States, total GDP 1999-2020. Retrieved from Passport Database.

Value Line Research Center

Maurer, D. (2009, April 17). Merck. Value Line Investment Survey. Retrieved from Value Line Research Center Database.