Please find a film review in an Historical journal and a journal from another Social Science journal (e.g. Teaching Sociology). Then as your assignment for the Monday after the Spring Break is to bring a Review of a film written by a Social Scientist. Please pick wisely. The fourteen articles individually picked by each class member will be the additional articles that become your third “text” (as described in the syllabus). You can also use the link to the social science reviews of films on my web site (the link I previously sent you), but I think everyone will be happier if you find much more recent films that our class members are likely to care about.
Getting Reel: A Social Science Perspective on Film
These online sources are good places to start your research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3.4 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.