Information taken from: A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th edition.
The Chicago Manual of Style "author-date" documentation system is less commonly used BUT if your professor wants you to us it here are some things to know:
Information taken from A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th edition.
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems:
1) The notes and bibliography (NB) style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography.
2) The author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.
*If you are asked to use Chicago NB format, be sure to consult The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, and/or A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th edition.
Using the Giude:
Information taken from Chicago Manual of Style Online guide
What Information is on the Cover Page- What are Footnotes, Do I need a Bibliography, When Do I Us "Ibid." and How, etc?
Formatting Guidelines- tell users how to format the paper.
Formatting- Quick Reference:
Title Page- Includes:
16 April, 2013
Header- Chicago does not provide guidelines for the use of headings.
Page # - In top right-hand corner of every page after the cover page place your last name and page number. Example: Jones 1
Footnotes and Endnotes – Endnotes and the 1st footnote entry are formatted the same way (see “Formatting- Quick Reference Cont. FOOTNOTES” box for more info.). Footnote Vs. Endnote - if your Professor or department doesn't specify a preferred format use footnotes. It is easier for the reader to look at the bottom of page instead of stopping and flip to the back of the paper every time they want to check the citation. (How Do I Do That Video)
Bibliography – appears at the end of the paper and lists every work you have cited (you may include works that you consulted but did not cite) arrange alphabetically by author or editors last name. All lines after the fist are indented. Format:
Example: Brown, Raymond Edward. An Introduction to the New Testament. New York: Doubleday, 1997.
(note: you may add full-sentence annotations describing the work's relevance.)
Quotes longer than 4 lines? – You can choose to create a block quote by indenting one-half inch (one "tab" key). Then enter the quote double space and without quotations and with citation number at the end of the quote. You must create a block quote for ten or more lines. Example (scroll to page 11)
Quotes & Punctuation - ...the end."
Punctuation- precedes citation number. Example: …the end.
What is the difference between the 1st Footnote/Endnote entry and Bibliography entry?
12. Raymond Edward Brown. An introduction to the New Testament. (New
York: Doubleday, 1997), #.
Brown, Raymond Edward. An Introduction to the New Testament. New
York: Doubleday, 1997.
Footnotes: You will most likely be allowed to enter the full bibliographic data, or complete citation, in the first note then a shortened version in subsequent notes. (How Do I Do That Video)
How Do I Cite Webpages, Interviews, and Books with Multiple Authors etc.?
Citation Style Guides explain how to cite any of the aforementioned sources and more: