Tips on locating empirical research
To find articles that report on empirical research, some keywords you might want to use:
study, results, discussion, data, variables, limitations, implications, survey, respondents, population, conclusion
Such terms should be searched as keywords rather than subject terms because they reflect the kind of language used in an article describing empirical research, but they are not the topic or subject of the study.
Complete list of education databases at Pepperdine
Click on the link below, or access via the path: library.pepperdine.edu/Access Databases and E-Journals/Education
Helpful Electronic Resources
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.
These online sources are good places to start your
research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief
description of the resource.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library
Access to over 900 online journals from Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and Psychology Press. Featured disciplines include Behavioral Science; Education; Business, Management & Economics; Media, Cultural & Communication Studies; Politics, International Relations & Area Studies; Sociology & Related Disciplines; and Sport, Leisure & Tourism.
LexisNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Education Full Text
You can search ERIC together with this database by clicking on '+Open Database Selection Area' and checking the box next to ERIC
via EBSCOhost; ERIC is also available to search with Education Full-Text, and in a free version at http://www.eric.ed.gov/
Access to nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 178,000 articles from 103 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Databases containing School Magazines
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines plus more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 107,000 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
An EBSCOhost database that contains full text for more than nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search includes: Boys' Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack and Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider and SuperScience.