Guides: ARTH 438 Contemporary Art: Finding Articles

Getting Started

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Getty Research Institute provides access to the BHA and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online)
Access to foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art, including the full text of The Dictionary of Art.
Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics edited by Michael Kelly (1998).