Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

T.E. Lawrence Book Collection: Metcalf Archival Collection

A resource for discovering the Metcalf Collection of Books on T.E. Lawrence.

Brochure from T.E. Lawrence Symposium, 1988

T.E. Lawrence Symposium Brochure

More on the Edwards H. Metcalf Papers

Edwards Huntington Metcalf (1911-2001) was a T.E. Lawrence admirer and collector, as well as a Pepperdine University board member. His parents were John and Elizabeth Metcalf, and he was the grandson of Henry Edwards Huntington, who founded the Huntington Library in San Marino. In 1986, Metcalf donated over 400 books to Payson Library, as well as papers and pamphlets from his T.E. Lawrence collection. The bulk of the Metcalf Papers consist of records related to the T.E. Lawrence Symposium held by Pepperdine University in 1988. The symposium brought together leading scholars to discuss the life and career of T.E. Lawrence. Metcalf played a large role in planning and executing the event, and acted as chair.

Materials include planning documents, clippings of publicity for the event, drafts of official materials, correspondence, brochures, programs, articles, photographs, slides, and audio and video of the event. Also included in the collection are correspondence and records related to Metcalf's acquisition of his rare book and T.E. Lawrence collections. The documents are dated from 1938-1989, with most ranging from 1988-1989. The collection is organized into the following series: 1. T.E. Lawrence Symposium, and 2. Edwards H. Metcalf Book Collection Records. (The folders of each series are arranged alphabetically.)

If you are interested in learning more about the Edwards H. Metcalf Papers, the link to the OAC Finding Aid is below. If you would like to view the papers in person, please contact Pepperdine's Special Collections and University Archives at specialcollections@pepperdine.edu.

 

Link to the Edwards H. Metcalf Finding Aid