Guides: ARTH 446 Chinese Art 中国艺术: Home

Getting Started

For background information on art, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online. Visit Help for a 'Guided Tour " with a useful information on searching Grove/Oxford Art Online.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Journals & Periodicals' search feature on the Library's Web site.

Finding Articles

Search these online databases to find articles on your topic/artist:

Art Full Text
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Getty Research Institute provides access to the BHA and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Online Book

A Companion to Chinese Art by Martin J. Powers (Editor); Katherine R. Tsiang (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444339130
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
Exploring the history of art in China from its earliest incarnations to the present day, this comprehensive volume includes two dozen newly-commissioned essays spanning the theories, genres,and media central to Chinese art and theory throughout its history.
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture by Rebecca M. Brown (Editor); Deborah S. Hutton (Editor)
Call Number: Online in Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 1405185376
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history. Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Ar; Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan Explores the influences on Asian art of global and colonial interactions and of the diasporic communities in the US and UK Showcases a wide range of topics including imperial commissions, ancient tombs, gardens, monastic spaces, performances, and pilgrimages.

Ge Garden on Google Arts & Culture

Geyuan Garden is the residential garden rebuilt by Huang Zhiyun（1770－1836). Covering an area of 24000 square meters, it is divided into three parts: the garden part in the middle, the residence in the south, the area of appreciating and planting bamboos in the north. The most famous scene in the garden is the rockery of four seasons which is piled by bamboo stones, lake stones, yellow stones and Xuan stones. This site contains images and a tour, Meandering in Ge Garden

Possible Subject Headings

Art, China

Art, Chinese

Ink painting, Chinese

Painting, Chinese

Calligraphy, Chinese

Avant-garde, China

Taoist art China

China Social Life and Customs

China Civilization

Gardens China

Historic gardens China

Gardens, Chinese China

Gardens, Chinese Design

Porcelain, Chinese

Smarthistory

Art History: China presented by Khan Academy
Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history making high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere. Khan Academy is a platform for the discipline where art historians contribute in their areas of expertise
Master of the (Fishing) Nets Garden in Suzhou, Chin
The Master of the (Fishing) Nets Garden in Suzhou, China was originally designed by Shi Zhengzhi, a 12th century official during the Southern Song Dynasty. He named the garden, Yu Yin, the Fisherman's Retreat. Song Zonghuan, an the 18th century court official renamed and restored the garden. It became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Astor Court in New York is a replica of one section of the Master of the Nets Garden. Speakers: Dr. Kristen Chiem and Dr. Steven Zucker.

Need Images for Your Presentation?

Work: 1751; 1811; 1893, Era: CE, Note: rebuilt 1811 and 1893, Image: May 2001. Garden of Harmonious Interests Xiequyuan, general view, across lake to pavilion. garden. http://library.artstor.org/asset/SS7730878_7730878_10563444.

Find images for your presentation or paper in the database, ARTstor which is also available in JSTOR.. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point. Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Beyond the Taj). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

ARTH 446 Chinese Art 中国艺术

Chicago Citation Style

Librarian