Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Working in the Library: Home

Looking for a great job on campus? Are you outgoing? Detail oriented? Chances are we have a great job for you!

Position Descriptions

Working in the Library Hub
The Library Hub seeks energetic service-oriented students to join the team. Faculty, staff and students depend upon local library services, interlibrary services and resource sharing to support their research and educational needs. Library student workers play a key role in helping the Library achieve these goals.

The Library supports the research and instructional needs of the campus community. Library operations encompass a wide variety of activities that range from shelving library materials and basic data entry to complex office/business activities and public service. Library student workers support these activities as well as provide the majority of staffing on weekday evenings and weekends.


Working with the Public


Circulation Student Worker
Work at the Library Hub on Malibu campus as a Circulation Assistant. The main emphasis of the job is on customer service. CA's check library materials in and out, help with the printing, answer phones, are friendly to patrons, put away DVDS and books at the end of the shift, and other duties as specified. Applicants must be dependable and punctual.  Click Here to Apply

Library Ambassador
Library Ambassadors (LAs) go beyond the functions of basic library tasks and provide research support services to fellow undergraduates. LAs assist in answering student questions regarding access to information, provide assistance locating books and other materials in the stacks, refer and set up appointments for students to meet with the appropriate librarians, inform students about all of the support services available through the library and ACE. LAs also staff the ACE and iPoint service desks, contribute to the library’s research guides, InfoGuides. LAs will work on special projects to help the library improve the current website and support outreach to other students as well as complete a weekly research exercises and submit the complete exercise on-time (this is to be done during work hours when the desk is slow). Applicants for this position need to submit a resume and a sample research paper. Click Here to Apply


Working Behind the Scenes and in Special Collections

There are lots of people who help make sure the library runs smoothly; getting books ready for the shelves, putting books on shelves and helping us receive new material. If you are interested in working behind the scenes please apply for one of these positions in Technical Services.

Special Collections offers students an opportunity to work with unique items and University archives. Students interested in working in Special Collections will need to write a brief essay as part of their application.



Interlibrary Loan Assistant
Interlibrary Loan Assistants package items for mailing. They retrieve books from the library shelves. They scan and/or photocopy articles and book chapters. This position requires some lifting and the ability to push book carts. Attention to detail is required. They also assist with special projects as needed.   Click Here to Apply

Technical Services Assistant
Technical Services Assistants sort, stamp, label and cover books, journals, magazines, and other library materials. Manual dexterity and attention to detail are required. This position requires some lifting and the ability to push book carts. Student workers also assist with special projects as needed. Must have your own reliable transportation as this position is located in the Pepperdine Calabasas facility.  Shuttle services are not offered for this position.  Click Here to Apply

Shelving Assistant
Shelving Assistants re-shelve returned materials, straighten book stack areas, stock and maintain book displays, shift books for space needs, and shelf-read the collection. This position requires some lifting and the ability to push full book carts.  Attention to detail and the ability to work independently are also required. Shelving assistants also assist with special projects as needed. Must have your own reliable transportation as this position is located in the Pepperdine Calabasas facilityShuttle services are not offered for this position. Click Here to Apply

Special Collections Assistant
Special Collections Student Assistants complete various tasks and projects related to preservation and organization of rare books and archival materials. Projects may include retrieving and shelving rare books and documents, digitizing photographs and documents, completing inventories, entering data into special collections databases, and special projects. This position requires some lifting. Attention to detail, the ability to work independently, and the ability to work carefully with fragile materials are also required. These hours will be worked in the Pepperdine Calabasas facility during the hours of 8am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. Special Collections Student Assistants must have reliable transportation, as shuttle services are not offered for this position. Click here to Apply

Digitization Project Assistant
The Digitization Project Assistant's primary responsibility is to scan and upload historic photographs from the University Archives under the direct supervision of the Librarian for Digital Curation and Publication. Situated in Special Collections and University Archives (Payson 324), this is a 10 hours per week position, flexibly scheduled between 9am-5pm, Monday to Friday. Requirements include an attention to detail, comfort with PCs, and the ability to work carefully with fragile materials.

Media Mentor
The Media Mentors will be supervised by the Instructional Design, Outreach, and Training librarian and will conduct Media Mentor work duties at the workstation nearest the phone just outside the Media Center. The Media Mentor provides one-on-one tutoring for video-editing software; monitors and reports problems with ACE hardware; and, performs general maintenance tasks on all workstations in ACE. This individual will be well-versed in video-editing programs such as Adobe Premiere and iMovie; be familiar with Adobe products such as Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and others; and be able to explain and demonstrate ACE equipment (e.g., flip cameras, audio recorders, and hard drives). When not helping students or faculty with software or hardware, the Media Mentor will help plan and market workshops related to ACE. The Media Mentor will perform excellent customer service for ACE including answering the phone and alerting Tech Central when the ACE printer is out of paper. Click Here to Apply