Good source for Hoover’s company reports and articles
Great source for articles. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 3,200 business-related periodicals with coverage back as far as the first half of the 20th century with full text for more than 2,300 periodicals, including nearly 1,100 full-text peer-reviewed journals. Business Source Premier offers unparalleled full text coverage of journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, international business, and more.
Example: I want to find articles on Friendly Ice Cream
Good source for articles. It's coverage of international publications is especially strong.
Example: I need articles about Toshiba's strategies.
Where can I find corporate organizational charts?
Where can I find company histories?
How do I compare a company to others in its industry? Use Factiva
Can I get a Harvard Business Case Study through the Library?
Contains balance sheet, cash flow statement, income statement and ratio data for the past 15 years.
Example: I need income statement, balance sheet and cash flow data for General Electric
Example: I need a 10-K/Annual reports from General Electric.
Please note: If you are researching a foreign company traded on a U.S. exchange you will search for the company’s 20-F instead of the 10-K.
Example: I need an investment analysis for Cognizant.
Example: I need financial information for Harley Davidson.
What is a SWOT analysis?
Doing SWOT analyses is such a ubiquitous part of business consulting that few bother to consider its origin or theoretical basis. SWOT analysis is a tool for matching organizational capabilities to market circumstances within the context of strategic planning. It is an acronym for examining the internal Strenghts and Weakness, and external Opportunities and Threats faced faced by a firm.
Prepackaged SWOT Analysis
Three databases typically include SWOT analyses: Business Source Premier, Datamonitor, Lexis/Nexis Academic. The major drawback to relying solely on these reports is that they are not done with a unique business problem in mind and they may not be timely. With that said, they are still a good place to begin your SWOT analysis.
Datamonitor (where SWOT analyses can be found in Business Source Premier can only be searched by company name. There are company reports for both domestic companies and foreign and publicly traded and private firms. Not every Datamonitor company report includes a SWOT analysis.
Example: I need a SWOT Analysis for the General Electric Company.
Log into Lexis/Nexis Academic.
Example #2: I need a SWOT Analysis for General Electric.
Log into Business Source Premier