Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

GSRE 199.01 Preparing for a Life of Purpose, Service and Leadership (Mark Davis): Helpful Web Resources and How to Evaluate Them

Religious Organizations & Guides

  • Unitarian Universalist Association
    "Both Unitarian and Universalist histories are inseparable from social and political action over the years. Since the Unitarians and the Universalists consolidated in 1961, the resulting Unitarian Universalist Association of Congregations has continued a proud legacy of activism. Our statements bear witness to the world on issues of social justice."
  • Catholic Social Justice & Catholic Social Teaching (St. John's University)
    "Reviews tenets of Teachings on Catholic Social Justice, and provides examples of applications of Social Justice in different academic disciplines."
  • Office for Social Justice (Catholic Charities of St. Paul & Minneapolis)
    "to serve the Archdiocese as its primary resource and catalyst for the work of social justice"
  • Catholic Campaign for Human Development 
    "the domestic anti-poverty, social justice program of the U.S. Catholic bishops"
  • Methodist Federation for Social Action (MFSA)
    "mobilizes clergy and laity within The United Methodist Church to take action on issues of peace, poverty and people’s rights within the church, the nation and the world"
  • United Church of Christ
    "Doing justice, seeking peace and building community are central to the identity of the United Church of Christ. We invite you to explore the breadth and depth of the UCC's justice work. Join us in building a stronger faith-based movement for peace, justice, equality and inclusivity."
  • Council for a Parliament of the World's Religions
    "created to cultivate harmony among the world's religious and spiritual communities and foster their engagement with the world and its guiding institutions in order to achieve a just, peaceful and sustainable world."
  • Repair the World 
    Works to inspire American Jews and their communities to give their time and effort to serve those in need. Works with existing and emerging organizations — Jewish and secular — and with American Jews — engaged in the community and not — to develop high-quality service opportunities and build an inspired Jewish community engaged in service.

Evaluating Web Resources

The Web offers a wealth of information, but not all of it is equally accurate or reliable. Unfortunately there is no easy checklist to consult to see if a Web page is credible. As with all information resources, the usefulness of the information may depend on what was needed in the first place. If you're using a Web-based source for an academic research paper, you'll need to evaluate and cite the source carefully.

Types of Web Page Addresses

In summary, the URL or address of a web page often carries information about the source of the information. There are 5 primary domains (or address groups) for U.S. pages:

 

.edu (education)

ranges from serious research to student pages
e.g. http://services.pepperdine.edu/housing/

.gov (government)

factual information, usually reliable
e.g. http://www.loc.gov

.org (organization)

not-for-profit organizations, usually advocacy pages
e.g. http://www.aspca.org

.com (commercial)

commercial sites that usually promote or sell products
e.g. http://www.tiffanys.com

.net (network)

network providers that include both commercial and individual sites
e.g. http://www.internic.net

Concepts to Consider

Authority

  • Is the author of the page clearly identified? What are his or her credentials for writing on this topic?
  • Is the author affiliated with an organization? What is the reputation of that organization?
  • Is there a link back to the organization's page or some other way to contact the organization and/or verify its credibility? (address, phone number, e-mail address?)
  • Who publishes and/or is responsible for the website itself? Who has registered the URL? more info

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
Sociological Research Online | Social costs of smoking

Purpose & Coverage

  • Are the purpose and objectives of the page clear?
  • Is it geared to a particular audience or level of expertise or geographic region or period of time?
  • Is the primary purpose to provide information? to sell a product? to make a political point? to have fun? to parody a person or organization or idea?
  • Is it a comprehensive resource or does it focus on a narrow range of information? Is it clear about this focus?
  • If it is an information database, are the dates of coverage clear and appropriate to your needs? Is it easy to search? Does it present information in a usable format?
  • If the page is interactive (a database or simulation, for instance), does it effectively present the information in a usable format?

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
Addictive Behaviors | Melatonin | Dihydrogen Monoxide Research Division

Accuracy

  • Is the page part of an edited or peer-reviewed publication?
  • Does the content of the page convey the amount, depth, and significance of the evidence being presented? Are the arguments persuasive?
  • Can factual information be verified through footnotes or bibliographies to other credible sources?
  • Has the site been evaluated by one of the Web subject indexes, a rating service or a library? If so, can you tell what criteria they used?
  • Did you find this source using an internet search engines such as Google or Yahoo? They neither select the best pages nor filter out questionable ones, so you need to evaluate the choices carefully. They also may not always have the most recent version of the page.
  • Based on what you already know about the subject (or have checked from other sources), does this information seem credible?
  • Are there obvious typos or misspelled words or other signs of sloppiness?

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
Pediatrics | Male Pregnancy | Google Announces Plan To Destroy All Information It Can't Index

Timeliness

  • Is it clear when the information was published and when was it last updated??
  • When was the research conducted?
  • Is this the most recent version?
  • Are there any indications that an attempt is made to keep the pages current?
  • If there are links to other Web pages, are they current?

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
ABC | Hatecrime Stats

Integrity of the Data

  • Is the source of any factual information clearly stated?
  • Are the source, scope and date of any statistics clearly labeled?
  • Is it clear whether or not the information as been excerpted from a larger piece?
  • Is there a way to tell if this is the most recent version of a particular piece?
  • Does the page rely on photographic images to make a point? If so, be aware that digital images can be easily manipulated.

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
Domestic Violence Stats |Image Quiz: Real or Fake?

Objectivity or Point of View

  • Does the page display a particular bias or perspective? Is it clear and forthcoming about its view of the subject? Does it use inflammatory or provocative language?
  • If the page contains advertising, are the ads clearly distinguishable from the content?
  • Is any conflict of interest discernable between content and advertising?

Think about these questions as you look at the following sites:
The Nation | National Review

 


This page is adapted from:

 

Hammett, P. (1999). Teaching Tools for Evaluating World Wide Web Resources. Teaching Sociology, 27(1), 31-37. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1319243