Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

GSHU 199 (Dudley): Poetry

Uncovering the Hidden Voices of Marginalized American Writers - Professor Dana Dudley

Poetry Resources Online

Poetry in Periodicals

Information about Poets

Contemporary poets, with a preface by Anthony Thwaite; editor, Thomas Riggs. 7th ed. New York : St. James Press, 2000.
Provides bibliographical information on more than 1,000 poets currently writing in the English language. Signed entries include biographical sketches, addresses, bibliographies of first editions, sound recordings, other publications, and lists of critical studies. Includes a title index.
Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Critical survey of poetry edited by Philip K. Jason. 2nd rev. ed. 8 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c2003.
Provides biographical sketches and critical analysis for 698 poets from the time of Ovid to the present. Vol. 1-7 contains poet essays arranged alphabetically; the essays give full birth and death dates, full listings of literary works by genre and bibliographical sources for further study. Vol. 8 contains 58 overview essays plus a chronological list of poets, a glossary of poetic terminology, a general bibliography, and indexes: geographical, categorized, and subject. This set is a combined ed. of: Critical survey of poetry: foreign language series, originally published 1984, Critical survey of poetry: supplement, original published 1987, and Critical survey of poetry: English language series, rev. ed. published 1992, plus new material.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1021 C7 2003)

Dictionary of literary biography Detroit, Mich : Gale Research Co, 1978-
Poets are also included in many volumes such as Victorian poets before 1850, Twentieth-century Spanish poets, American poets since World War II... The signed essays combine biographical and critical aspects with synopses of works and their bibliographical details, emphasizing in varying degrees the writer's historical importance and influence.
Included in the database: Literature Resource Center

Poetry criticism : excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Inc., c1991-
Each author entry includes a biographical and critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical excerpts (arranged chronologically to emphasize critical reception), and a list of suggested readings. Excerpts are prefaced with an explanatory note to provide critical context. Each volume contains a cumulative author index, a cumulative nationality index for poets, and a cumulative title index of individual poems, book-length poems, and collection titles. 
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1111 P63 v.1-52); much of the content is available in Literature Resource Center

Print Indexes

Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies. 13thed., completely rev., indexing anthologies published through May 31, 2006, edited by Tessa Kale. New York, Columbia University Press, 2007.
A title and first-line index to 85,000 poems by 12,000 poets collected in approximately 400 anthologies. Last-line indexing is provided for 10,000 poems. Author and subject indexes are included. The first edition was published in 1904; each edition drops 150 anthologies and adds 150 new ones.
Payson Library (Ready Ref. PN 1022 H39 2007)

Last lines : an index to the last lines of poetry, by Victoria Kline. 2 vols. New York : Facts on File, c1991.
Indexes the last lines of approximately 171,000 poems published in anthologies, 1900-1987, including the same 405 anthologies of Granger's 8th ed., 74 from Granger's6th ed., and 18 significant anthologies published 1985-87. Contents: v. 1. Last line index. Title index -- v. 2. Author index. Keyword index.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1022 K55 1991)

Book Reviews in Newspapers

Book reviews, including collections of poetry and book-length poems, can be located in newspapers by using the appropriate index, such as:

New York Times Index.
Reviews are listed under Book Reviews alphabetically by title (beginning 1994 under the heading Books and Literature); reviews can also be found under the author of the book reviewed.
Payson Library (Index Area) 1851-1906,1911-1999
The New York Times Book Review is available in full-text from 1997 forward in ProQuest Research Library

Los Angeles Times Index.
Reviews are listed by title under Books-Titles and by author under Books-Authors. See also Poetry and Poets.
Payson Library (Index Area) 1960-1999
Current & historic issues of the newspaper are available in the Los Angeles Times database.

Wall Street Journal Index.
Reviews are listed under Books-Authors and Books-Titles; earlier volumes have listing under Book Reviews.
Payson Library (Index Area) 1960-1999
Current issues of the Wall Street Journal are available/indexed in the Factiva database

Washington Post Index.
Reviews are listed under Books-Authors and Books-Titles; earlier volumes have listing under Book Reviews.
Payson Library (Index Area) 1972/75-1997
The Washington Post is available in LexisNexis Academic from 1977 forward.