Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Business & Economics: Using Info Ethically & Citing Effectively

What is MLA?

MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting manuscripts and using the English language in writing. MLA style also provides writers with a system for referencing their sources through parenthetical citation in their essays and Works Cited pages.

  • As with any citation stystem using it correctly protects the writer from accusations of plagiarism. As mentioned earlier in this guide proper citation builds credibility to the paper by demonstrating accountability to source material.

    If you are asked to use MLA format, be sure to consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th edition). Publishing scholars and graduate students should also consult the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd edition).


Descriptions for Style Guide (MLA)
Seas, K., & Brizee, A. (2010, November 1, 2010). General format. Retrieved from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/

Citing Business Sources in MLA

The MLA style manual does not provide examples for citing business sources such as financial data, industry profiles and annual reports. The examples listed below will assist you with citing business sources in MLA format. Simply substitute your own companies, industries, publication dates and access dates with those listed below.

Source:

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009. Print.

Annual Report

Intel Corp. 2008 Annual Report. Intel Corporation, 2009. Web. 9 July, 2009.

10-K report from a Pepperdine subscription database

Amgen. 2009 10-K Report. Mergent Online. Web. 9 July, 2009.

Mergent

"Pfizer Inc: Balance Sheet 1999-2009." Mergent Online. Web. 9 July 2009.

Value Line Research Center

Maurer, Douglas G. "Merck." Value Line Investment Survey 17 Apr 2009. Value Line Research Center. Web. 9 July 2009. 

Datamonitor Industry Profile from Business Source Premier

Datamonitor. "Pharmaceutical Industry Profile Global." Nov. 2008. Business Source Premier. Web. 9 July 2009. 

Hoover's Company Reports from LexisNexis Academic:

Hoover's Inc.  "Pfizer Inc." Hoover's Company Records- In-Depth Records 7 July 2009. LexisNexis Academic. Web. 10 July 2009.

Mintel

Mintel. "Functional Foods."  May 2008. Mintel.  Web. 10 July 2009.

S&P Net Advantage

Saftlas, Herman. "Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals." Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys 4 June 2009. S&P Net Advantage. Web. 10 July 2009. 

Global Market Information Database

Euromonitor. "United States, Total GDP 1999-2020." Global Market Information Database. Web. 28 January 2010.

 

What is APA?

APA

APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

  • When using APA format, follow the author-date method of in-text citation. This means that the author's last name and the year of publication for the source should appear in the text, E.g., (Jones, 1998), and a complete reference should appear in the reference list at the end of the paper.

    If you are referring to an idea from another work but NOT directly quoting the material, or making reference to an entire book, article or other work, you only have to make reference to the author and year of publication in your in-text reference.

    APA style requires authors to use the past tense or present perfect tense when using signal phrases to describe earlier research. E.g., Jones (1998) found or Jones (1998) has found...

  • As with any citation stystem using it correctly protects the writer from accusations of plagiarism. As mentioned earlier in this guide proper citation builds credibility to the paper by demonstrating accountability to source material.

    If you are asked to use APA format, be sure to consult the  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing. 

 

 

Descriptions for Style Guides (APA)
Russell, T., Angeli, E., Wagner, J., Lawrick, E., Moore, K., Anderson, M., Soderland, L., & Brizee, A. (2010, August 1, 2010). General format. Retrieved from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/

Citing Business Sources in APA

The APA Publication Manual does not provide specific examples for citing annual reports, financial statements, market research reports, economic statistics and other resources that are frequently used by business students.The examples listed below will assist you with citing business sources in MLA format. Simply substitute your own companies, industries, publication dates and access dates with those listed below.

Source:

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.).. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.


Annual Report from the company's web site:

Whole Foods Market. (2010). 2010 Annual report to shareholders. Retrieved from http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/company/pdfs/ar10.pdf

10-K Report from a library database:

Whole Foods Market. (2010). 2010 10-K report. Retrieved from Mergent Online Database.

Financial Data from a library database:

Pfizer Inc: Balance sheet 1999-2009. (2010). Retrieved form Mergent Online Database.

Datamonitor Industry Profile from Business Source Premier

Datamonitor. (2008, November). Pharmaceutical industry profile: global. Retrieved from Business Source Premier Database.

Mintel

Mintel. (2008, May). Functional foods. Retrieved from Mintel Database.

S&P Net Advantage

Saftlas, H. (2009, June 4). Healthcare: pharmaceuticals. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved from S&P Net Advantage Database.

Global Market Information Database

Euromonitor. (2010). United States, total GDP 1999-2020. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database.

Value Line Research Center

Maurer, D. (2009, April 17). Merck. Value Line Investment Survey. Retrieved from Value Line Research Center Database.