Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Journalism: World Media

This guide provides access to recommended research resources for journalism

Databases

Overview

Online

Donsbach, W. (2008). The International Encyclopedia of Communication. Malden, MA: Wiley/Blackwell. 
Provides scholarship spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Entries range from extended explorations of major topics to short definitions of key terms and include subjects, people, periods, places, and key topics. Electronic resource 

Europa world plus (2003). New York, NY: Taylor & Francis E-reference.
Europa World is the online version of The Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which are indispensable sources of information on world-wide affairs. Electronic resource

United States. Central Intelligence Agency. (19uu). The world factbook online.

Quick, A. C., & Thomson Gale. (2003). World press encyclopedia online (2nd ed.). Detroit, Mich.: Gale.
This survey of press and electronic media now covers about 200 countries. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries begin with an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press. Entries then cover the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism and more. This edition offers articles on 20 new countries and a focus on new media, including cable and Internet. Electronic resource.


In Print

Johnston, D. H. (2003). Encyclopedia of international media and communications. San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press.
The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. The Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Contains approximately 220 separate articles, all original contributions commissioned for this work *Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles; "further reading" lists appear at the end of each entry. Payson Library Reference P87.5 .E535 2003.

PRS Group. (1999). Political risk yearbook online.
These country reports provide political and economic risk analysis on 106 countries. Each country report focuses on political and business information. Access is via Business Source Premier. Search by typing in Political Risk Yearbook as the publication name. In the second search box, type the country you are researching. Electronic resource

Quick, A. C. (2003). World press encyclopedia : A survey of press systems worldwide (2nd ed.). Detroit: Gale.
This survey of press and electronic media now covers about 200 countries. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries begin with an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press. Entries then cover the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism and more. This edition offers articles on 20 new countries and a focus on new media, including cable and Internet. Payson Library Reference: PN4728 .Q53 2003

Terzis, G. (2007). European media governance: national and regional dimensions. Bristol, UK; Chicago: Intellect.

European Media Governance: National and Regional Dimensions analyzes processes and behavior that affect media governance in 32 European countries.  Payson Library: KJC6946 .E97 2007

Subject Guide