BA 498 Service Leadership

Example: I need the Harvard Business Review article "Put Failure in Its Place."

• Type harvard business review into the first box
• Type Put Failure in Its Place into the second box
• Click Search

Example: I need articles on social media and nonprofits.

• Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue so all of.the databases can be searched simultaneously
• Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box 
• Type social media or facebook or twitter or social networks or youtube and click search
• Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2018 to 2023

Example: I want articles on fundraising for nonprofit organizations.

• Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue so all of.the databases can be searched simultaneously
• Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box and select SU Subject
• Type fundraising into the second box and select SU Subject and click Search
• Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2018 to 2023

Example: I need articles about volunteers and nonprofit organizations.

• Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue so all of.the databases can be searched simultaneously
• Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box and select SU Subject
• Type volunteers into the second box and select SU Subject 
• Type recruit* into the third box (the asterisk gives variations of root words like recruiting, recruited, recruitment, etc.
• Click search
• Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2018 to 2023

Example: I need articles on faith-based nonprofit organizations.

• Click "Choose Databases" and click the boxes for Academic Search Complete and ATLA so all of the databases can be searched simultaneously
• Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box and select SU Subject
• Type religious or faith-based into the second box and select SU Subject and click Search
• Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2014 to 2023

Example: I want dissertations on social media and nonprofits.

• Type charities or nonprofit into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
• Type social media or twitter or facebook or youtube or instagram into the second box and and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
• Click search
• On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2014-2020

Example: I want dissertations on recruiting volunteers.

• Type charities or nonprofit into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
• Type volunteers into the second box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
• Type recruit* into the third box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
• Click search
• On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2010-2020

Example: I need articles on the correlation between racism and high blood pressure.

• Type blood pressure AND discrimination into the box and click search (the word AND is search command and must be capitalized in this database)
• Set the date range. on the left-hand side to limit your results to newer articles