Intute: Social Sciences - "...free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. We aim to match resources to the women's studies curriculum and the needs of researchers. Our target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education."
WSS links: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites: Annotated subject-arranged list of web links maintained by Women's Studies Librarians. Subject divisions for: Art, Business, Culture (mostly literature), Education, Film, Health, History, International, Lesbian Sites, Music, Philosophy, Politics, Science and Technology, Theology.
Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites: Annotated, subject-arranged has an academic focus; includes topics such as Health, International, Sexuality, and Women of Color. Also links to women's studies programs and research centers.
MenEngage: MenEngage is a global alliance of NGOs and UN agencies that seeks to engage boys and men to achieve gender equality. At the national level, members include more than 400 NGOs from Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America, Asia and Europe. The Alliance came together in 2004 with the general goal of working in partnership to promote the engagement of men and boys in achieving gender equality, promoting health and reducing violence at the global level, including questioning the structural barriers to achieving gender equality.
Primary Sources on Women's History: Work, suffrage, activists, and more
American Women's History: A Research Guide: American Women's History provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
American Women Through Time: Organized by time period from pre-history to current. Notes significant years and links to valuable resources for more research.
Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World. It is an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean containing course materials, a searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
This collection of television and radio programmes remembers some of the major feminist thinkers of those years and highlights the issues they addressed and attitudes they contested.
Women Working, 1800-1930 a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.
International Organization for Migration : "IOM activities that cut across these areas include the promotion of international migration law, policy debate and guidance, protection of migrants' rights, migration health and the gender dimension of migration."
Gender Ads: Begun by Scott A. Lucas, PhD, site contains over 2,500 advertising images, covers many topics including male and female subjects, objectification, gaze, and LGBT issues in advertisements. "Warning: Many of the images on this site are disturbing. Unfortunately they are a reflection of the misogyny, violence and dehumanization present in our consumer culture, our media and advertising specifically."
MediaWatch: "Challenging sexism, racism, and violence in the media through education and action. Our goal is to challenge abusive stereotypes and other biased images commonly found in the media. Media Watch, which began in 1984, distributes educational videos, media literacy information and newsletters to help create more informed consumers of the mass media. We do not believe in any form of censorship, especially the silencing of marginalized groups. Corporate owned media will use any image or story to manipulate buying power and opinions, regardless of the harm engendered by their images. We believe people's safety should come before profit."
Guttmacher Institute: "The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit organization focused on sexual and reproductive health research, policy analysis and public education."
Institute for Women's Policy Research: "...dedicated to informing and stimulating the debate on public policy issues of critical importance to women and their families ... focuses on issues of poverty and welfare, employment and earnings, work and family issues, health and safety, and women's civic and political participation."
Kaiser Family Foundation: "... a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health. ... a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public. ... always provided free of charge – from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers..."
Population Reference Bureau: "The Population Reference Bureau provides timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications."
Urban Institute: United States issues. Mission: To promote sound social policy and public debate on national priorities, the Urban Institute gathers and analyzes data, conducts policy research, evaluates programs and services, and educates Americans on critical issues and trends.
VAWnet: Researching Violence Against Women Online: "... online resources relevant to research on domestic and sexual violence including Applied Research Documents, data sets, research and evaluation tools, fact sheets, research reports, and other publications that provide an analysis, critique and/ or review of current related issues."
Kaiser Family Foundation: Women's Health Policy: Up-to-date information on a variety of health issues, including reproductive health, contraception, and access to and quality of health services received by women. Includes full text statistical surveys of the U.S.
Gapminder.org : Data visualizations of over 400 tables of data from reputable sources (e.g., ILO, WHO, UN) collected over spans of years and dynamically graphed them to show parts of the world (poor, middle, and wealthy, etc.) and allow a time lapse view of the changes. Searchable by keyword. Many gender specific topics, international in scope, allows comparison of specific countries, and more.
PovcalNet "PovcalNet also allows you to calculate the poverty measures under different assumptions and to assemble the estimates using alternative country groupings or for any set of individual countries of you're choosing. PovcalNet is self-contained; it has reliable built-in software that quickly does the relevant calculations for you from the built-in database." Poverty Calculator from the World Bank. Allows download to Excel spreadsheets.