Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Finding Book Reviews: Home

Book Reviews and Book News

Information from the New Yorks Times Books Section

Loading

Finding Book Reviews in Databases

The most important full-text journal databases, JSTOR and ProjectMUSE, are both excellent tools for locating scholarly book reviews, as to a lesser extent is Academic Search Complete.

Use JSTOR to find reviews of books with an imprint/copyright more than a few years old, and ProjectMUSE to find reviews of books published in the last several years. Please keep in mind that all three of these databases index substantive journal articles in addition to book reviews, so be sure to limit your search to "Reviews" in JSTOR, "Reviews Only" in ProjectMUSE, and "Book Review" in Academic Search Complete.

Book Review Digest is a database dedicated to book reviews. It includes records for about 1.3 million book reviews and 550,000 books. More than 100,000 reviews are available full text. Covers 1983 to the present. Reviews are drawn from both scholarly and general-interest periodicals.

Print Index

Begin with the volume which corresponds to the earliest publication date of the book. Check at least five years beyond the publication date of the book.

Book Review Digest New York: The H. W. Wilson Company, 1905+
A digest and index of selected book reviews in about 75 English and American periodicals. Arranged alphabetically by author of book reviewed with subject and title indexes. To be included, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States. A work of non-fiction must have received two or more reviews and one of fiction four or more reviews. For each book there is a brief descriptive note followed by quotations from selected reviews, with exact reference to the periodical in which the review appeared, plus references to other reviews. Length of reviews are indicated in number of words.
Payson (Index Area) 1905-1983
Online database 1983+


Scholarly Book Reviews