Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

RefWorks: Importing Data Directly

Importing Data Directly

You can import records directly into RefWorks from certain online database services such as CSA, WorldCat, OCLC, ERIC, OVID, Academic Search Complete etc. This allows you to import references without the need for you to create a text file. These are only a few examples of databases that allow for direct importing

From OVID databases (PsychInfo, Medline, etc.):

  • Select one or more record(s)
  • Scroll down to the results manager (at the very bottom of the page) 
  • Under Result Format, select Direct Export
  • Click the Save icon
  • Select Export results to Refworks
  • Click Continue

From EBSCO databases (ERIC, Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, etc.):

  • Put your item(s) in a folder
  • Click the folder view link(located on the right-hand side under Folder has Items)
  • Click Select All
  • Click the export button(looks like a piece of paper with a green arrow pointing to the right)
  • Click the Direct Export to RefWorks button
  • Click the save button

From FirstSearch databases (Wilson Select, WorldCat etc.):

  • Select the items you would like to be exported and then click the Export button (located at both the top and bottom of the page)
                            OR
  • Click the export button from within a record
  • Under Export select Marked Records From this Search
  • Under Export to select Refworks 
  • Hit Export

From CSA databases (Sociological Abstracts, etc):

  • After you perform a search, the Refworks link will display above the first article.
  • Mark the items you want.
  • Click on RefWorks (top of the page) and then click Export to Refworks.

From Proquest databases (Education Complete, Criminal Justice Periodicals, Chicago Tribune etc):

  • Mark the item(s) you want to export
  • Click on the Marked Items in the My Research tab
  • Click on Export citations
  • Click on Export directly to RefWorks

 

From the Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • Choose an entry from the work you want to cite
  • Click Citation Tools on the right side of the screen
  • Choose your Citation Format, and click Select
  • Go to Export To and choose RefWorks
  • Click Export 

From Wiley Online Library

  • Choose the article that you want to export. 
  • Click Tools (with the wrench icon)
  • Click Export Citation
  • Under the Format heading, make sure RefWorks is selected
  • Under the Type of Import heading, make sure Direct Import is selected
  • Click Download
  • It should automatically advance to RefWorks, but you may have to click Submit data to RefWorks